Death / Iii
Album: Iii   Collection:General
Artist:Death   Added:May 2014
Label:Drag City  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-05-09 Pull Date: 2014-07-11
Week Ending: Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22 Jun 15 May 25 May 18 May 11
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 05, 2016: does radio suck?
North Street
4. Jun 26, 2014: The Sunset Life
North Street
2. Jul 09, 2014: Meow After Midnight
We Are Only People
5. Jun 25, 2014: Meow After Midnight
3. Jul 05, 2014: Proselytizer Radio News Hour
North Street
6. Jun 19, 2014: fried egg
North Street

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-05-08
Okay, so here’s the deal: Death is an ESSENTIAL 70s Detroit proto-punk band, tragically denied the canonical status of The Stooges or MC5 but rocking just as hard. Unfortunately, this collection is not so essential, comprising of the band’s final sessions before moving to Vermont and trying to do gospel-rock (seriously). There are some good songs, but “For All The World To See” is really the crucial document of this band (we have it in our library, check it out). These brothers turned down a contract from Columbia just to keep the name Death—now THAT’S rock & roll! Reissues, semi-reunions and a documentary have followed, which I highly recommend. Educational, and FCC clean, but not terribly entertaining.

1. basically a guitar sound-check, an aimless bluesy shuffle sans drums & bass
2. **killer tune with menacing hi-hat pattern, rawkin’ solos, angry lyrics
3. swinging rockabilly shuffle, sounds like Hendrix’s lighter stuff but not as good… meh
4. Huh, this is interesting. Creepy intro of spoken word + feedback goes into a mellow, hazy sort of ballad, then kicks into a midpaced rocker with clean guitar tone, like Budgie at their most tepid
5. *an urgent tune barrels along with nasty guitar solos, pounding drums
6. terrible-sounding demo of just strummed guitar, shakers, some singing… why is this even on here?
7. another sappy tune without overdrive, presumably about Jesus… yawn
8. pleasant if overly sentimental guitar instrumental, the mellow younger cousin of “Maggot Brain”
9. incredibly cheesy tune with upbeat harmonies, romantic crooning with a proto-80s shitty drum sound, presaging the band’s unfortunate foray into freakin’ gospel

Track Listing
1. Introduction By David   5. Restlessness
2. North Street   6. Free
3. Open Road   7. Yes He's Coming
4. We Are Only People   8. First Snowfall In Detroit
  9. We're Gonna Make It