Lab Partners / Seven Seas
Album: Seven Seas   Collection:General
Artist:Lab Partners   Added:Jul 2014
Label:Pravda Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-07-04 Pull Date: 2014-09-05
Week Ending: Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 10 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20 Jul 13
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 03, 2014: A-philiac
Do You Feel Life
4. Aug 06, 2014: A-philiac
The Setup
2. Aug 24, 2014: Pentagonal Banana
Do You Feel Life, Taking Our Time
5. Aug 03, 2014: Pentagonal Banana
Basket Case
3. Aug 22, 2014: Octagonal Banana
Because Of You / Because Of Me
6. Aug 02, 2014: The Proselytizer Radio News Hour
Mothman Night Terrors

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-07-09
Lab Partners, Seven Seas. Psychedelic/Dream rock/Shoegaze/Indie rock/90’s indie. Hailing from Dayton Ohio, this band has been around for ~16 years with numerous lineup changes. The current lineup features artists from Holy Fuck and former Guided by Voices and The Breeders drummer Jim Macpherson. Their sound is spacerock with hypnotic wall of sound guitar work similar to that of mbv. Some tracks have guitar solos with a dino jr feel. Don’t get me wrong though, it’s not entirely 90’s, but is a healthy amalgamation of indie rock from the 2000’s as well. This is a solid rock album. FCC clean, play all tracks, can’t go wrong. RIYL: mbv, Dinosaur Jr., The Breeders, Tame Impala.

1.(3:48) The vocals are a mess in this song. Seasick and distorted. Chorus has some wall of sound shoegaze feel. Song would be great if the vocals were more believable at the beginning
2.(4:30) ** Solid rock song. Lot of guitar work here.
3.(5:22) ** Space rock. Crazy chill but upbeat and medium pace.
4.(3:28) * Space rock. Has some dinosaur jr. –esque guitar work.
5.(5:21) ** Excellent. “Do you feel life?”
6.(3:38) * Solid, 90’s indie rock, spacey vocals.
7.(7:19) ** Solid, much of the same, wall of sound and spacey rock. Slows down and grooves at 4:00. Rocks out and takes it back down to finish up.
8.(5:41) *** Great feel. Chill wall of sound with 90’s indie feel plus heavy drums. Dramatic.
9.(4:39) ** Spacey chill vibes, with great guitar.
10.(6:27) * Same deal, solid rock song.

Track Listing
1. Because Of You / Because Of Me   6. Basket Case
2. Simple Machine   7. Six Times
3. Taking Our Time   8. The Setup
4. Starlite   9. Mothman Night Terrors
5. Do You Feel Life   10. Seven Seas