Van Etten, Sharon / Are We There
Album: Are We There   Collection:General
Artist:Van Etten, Sharon   Added:Jul 2014

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-07-25 Pull Date: 2014-09-26
Week Ending: Sep 21 Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24 Aug 17 Aug 10 Aug 3
Airplays: 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 10, 2023: Well Mixed
Every Time The Sun Comes Up
4. Jul 04, 2016: Life Aquatic
I Love You But I'm Lost
2. Mar 02, 2020: Sub for dj en masse
Every Time The Sun Comes Up
5. Feb 05, 2015: A-philiac
Tarifa, Your Love Is Killing Me, Taking Chances
3. Jul 21, 2018: FMF
Every Time The Sun Comes Up
6. Jan 09, 2015: Time Traveler (Top 34 of 2014)
Taking Chances

Album Review
Zoe Rogers
Reviewed 2014-07-24
Fourth studio album from one of my favorites: Sharon Van Etten. This is not to be missed!! Self-produced with the help of Stewart Lerman, these song are beautiful and her voice is justly showcased at the forefront of these songs. Great start to finish.

Recommended Tracks: Cant choose, play them all (except 1 and 11 of course)

1. (4:05) Afraid of Nothing: This song is incredibly beautiful and haunting. Builds slowly, starting with pianos only, and then somse strings and guitar, until drums finally build in around minute 2. Love this! unfortunately, FCC WARNING!! SHIT
2. (3:50) Taking Chances: More electronic sounds, steady beat, distant lyrics.
3. (6:18) Your Love Is Killing Me: Canned drum beat and organ tones start the build of this one that devolves into a 6 minute jam. Longest Sharon Van Etten song ever I think. Excellent.
4. (3:53) Our Love: Drum machines and a whining guitar sound with a bit of falsetto. Sweet song.
5. (4:51) Tarifa: This one is down tempo and full of beautiful strings and horns.
6. (4:19) I Love You But I'm Lost: Down tempo, drums and piano.
7. (4:32) You Know Me Well: Very ominous sounding, and yet, as alway, gorgeous.
8. (4:01) Break Me: Another 3/4 time signature, synth tones and a steady snare beat.
9. (3:16) Nothing Will Change: One of my favorite melodies on the album, simple, cool baseline.
10. (3:36) I Know: Piano and vocals only, still awesome and urgent sounding.
11. (4:23) Every Time The Sun Comes Up: The awesomeness that is the Van Etten rasp. "Even when the sun comes up I'm in trouble." This one may be my favorite, but it has FCC WARNING: SHIT.


Track Listing
1. Afraid Of Nothing   6. I Love You But I'm Lost
2. Taking Chances   7. You Know Me Well
3. Your Love Is Killing Me   8. Break Me
4. Our Love   9. Nothing Will Change
5. Tarifa   10. I Know
  11. Every Time The Sun Comes Up