Eternal Summers / Drop Beneath, The
Album: Drop Beneath, The   Collection:General
Artist:Eternal Summers   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Kanine Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-08-22 Pull Date: 2014-10-24
Week Ending: Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 5 Sep 7 Aug 31 Aug 24
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 24, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Make It New
4. Sep 04, 2014: Binders Full of Sopranos
2. Oct 16, 2014: Meow
5. Sep 03, 2014: A-philiac
3. Oct 02, 2014: The Fishbowl
Until The Day I Have Won
6. Aug 29, 2014: Octagonal Banana
Make It New

Album Review
Alejandra Salazar
Reviewed 2014-08-11
Eternal Summers
The Drop Beneath
Kanine, 2014

Slightly eclectic collection of really solid indie rock from this group, with the faintest hint of spacey ethereal synth fun. Standout female vocal work courtesy of Nicole Yun. Really, really good album, great for radio play.

FCC clean.

**1. (3:48) The opening minute of instrumental work is slightly ethereal; the song starts to become grounded when lead vox and percussion comes in. Lo-fi guitar work smoothly evolves from the song’s initial dreamy tone. Excellent opening track.
*2. (4:20) Head bobbing, mid-tempo, whirring guitars. Great display of indie rock goodness, absolutely infectious chorus.
**3. (2:52) Bizarre lyrics delivered in a gorgeous falsetto vox—that in itself is totally worth playing. Song itself is very catchy, a bit of an upbeat foil to the singing.
4. (3:01) Slower, sleepier, dreamy. Nice contrast of fuzzy guitar with the Yun’s light, slightly reverbed vox.
5. (4:33) Some fun with the effects pedal during transitions/build-up. Slightly repetitive, catchy melody playfully highlighted on different instruments makes for fun listening.
**6. (3:55) Messy guitar layered atop messy vocals topped off with incredibly frenzied percussion. Darker, turbulent, stormy—excellent track.
*7. (3:54) A rare appearance of male vocals! Track feels slightly out of place (still great, though): very soft rock, lots of strumming taking precedence over the last track’s lo-fi fuzz, definite 80s influence (my favorite bit is the slightest hint of synth/keys that float in and out of the chorus).
8. (3:45) Some of the best vox on the album. Gorgeous harmonies, excellent display of Yun’s range. Constant, booming, driving percussion.
9. (3:53) As acoustic as this album gets. Soft guitar, bass. More of those gorgeous harmonies. Dreamy, lovely track.
**10. (4:20) Vocal-synth showcase, lots of echoing. Instruments come in one by one (standout percussion) and leave the same way, which makes for a great effect and an excellent buildup. One of the best on the album.
*11. (7:06) Loads of fun playing with electric guitar/effects pedal (best part), showcasing the excellent percussion on the album. Solid track that takes the time to highlight everyone in the group.

Track Listing
1. 100   6. Make It New
2. A Burial   7. Not For This One
3. Gouge   8. Deep End
4. Keep Me Away   9. Capture
5. Never Enough   10. Until The Day I Have Won
  11. The Drop Beneath