El Columpio Asesino / Ballenas Muertas En San Sebastian
Album: Ballenas Muertas En San Sebastian   Collection:General
Artist:El Columpio Asesino   Added:Aug 2014
Label:Mushroom Pillow  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-09-19 Pull Date: 2014-11-21
Week Ending: Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9 Nov 2 Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 12 Sep 28
Airplays: 2 2 1 4 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 02, 2021: Magnetized Toner: Favorite Songs of the Decad... (rebroadcast from Jan 14, 2020)
Entre Cactus Y Azulejos
4. Oct 01, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [FQ15SR1]
Entre Cactus Y Azulejos
2. Jan 14, 2020: Magnetized Toner: Favorite Songs of the Decade [2010 - 2019] Conclusion
Entre Cactus Y Azulejos
5. Jun 23, 2015: ITYOTET: 1stHR-First Year Anniversary! 2ndHR-DJ Paws & Play Synth Set!
Entre Cactus Y Azulejos
3. Jul 12, 2016: Magnetized Toner
6. Mar 17, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W1510]

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2014-09-19
Ballenas Muertas En San Sebastian is the fifth album from Pamplona’s El Columpio Asesino. This latest work finds them experimenting heavily with synthesizers, sequencers, and drum machines, a very bold move considering that they made their reputation as a guitar-driven band influenced by American 80s college radio. For Ballenas, the band has created a minimalistic, almost hermetic, electronic atmosphere filled with melody, catchy riffs, and strange beats. Another strength of the album is the vocal work shared by drummer and lead singer Álvaro Arizaleta and guitarist Cristina Martínez. Whether solo or duet, their voices work strikingly well with the music. Considering that the album references Krautrock, it’s interesting to see how El Columpio Asesino uses just certain elements of this genre to build their tracks without overworking them. A remarkable effort for a band playing at the top of their game.

RIYL: Suicide, Throbbing Gristle, Los Iniciados, Neu!, Sonic Youth, and, Primal Scream’s XTRMNTR.

Recommended Tracks: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9

1. (1:48) (Intro) Babel – Echoing intro that fades in and out. Hunting.
2. (3:33) **Babel – Super dancy tack full of great cinematic moments. Play it!
3. (2:49) **Escalofrio [Shiver] – Great build-up of rhythm, sounds, and tension. Perfect length too.
4. (3:44) *Ballenas Muertas En San Sebastian [Dead Whales In San Sebastian] – A nice companion to the previous track. Layers of great sounds.
5. (4:25) **A la Espalda del Mar [At The Back Of The Sea] – Catchy midtempo track with great vocals by Cristina Martínez and a solid instrumental work. Totally playable.
6. (3:43) *Anzuelos [Baits]– Another slow-fast track with the most distinctive guitar riff on the entire album.
7. (3:54) *Susurrame [Whispering] – Dense track with a harsh drumbeat, hidden vocals, noises, and a repetitive riff. All here.
8. (3:43) **La Lombriz De Tu Cuello [The Worm Of Your Neck] – Throbbing Gristle’s energy here. Machine driven rhythms and filtered vocals are all you need.
9. (4:44) **Entre Cactus Y Azulejos [Among Cactus & Tiles] – Splendid closer track full of dancy rhythms, whispering vocals, nice synths, and primitive screams. Yeah!

Track Listing
1. (Intro) Babel   5. A La Espalda Del Mar
2. Babel   6. Anzuelos
3. Escalofrio   7. Susurrame
4. Ballenas Muertas En San Sebastian   8. La Lombriz De Tu Cuello
  9. Entre Cactus Y Azulejos