Cold Specks / Neuroplasticity
Album: Neuroplasticity   Collection:General
Artist:Cold Specks   Added:Sep 2014
Label:Mute Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-09-12 Pull Date: 2014-11-14
Week Ending: Nov 16 Nov 9 Nov 2 Oct 26 Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 28
Airplays: 1 2 1 4 2 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 04, 2015: the springfield law review (best of 2014)
A Season Of Doubt
4. Nov 06, 2014: ZoeRadio
Bodies At Bay
2. Nov 13, 2014: The Sunset Life
Bodies At Bay
5. Oct 30, 2014: ZoeRadio
3. Nov 07, 2014: A Visit From Drum
6. Oct 24, 2014: A Visit From Drum
Bodies At Bay

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-09-11
Soul / Post rock / a little doomy. Canadian artist, Al Spx, is a singer-songwriter with a distinct soulful post rock sound. Very cool stuff and worth a listen. She was up for a Polaris award in 2012 after her first album, I Predict a Graceful Expulsion. RIYL: Phosphorescent, EMA, Torres, PJ Harvey, Mirel Wagner. FCC clean.

1. (2:26) *Tough trudging and jazzy. Deep vocals on woman that means business.
2. (3:32) **Single on the album. Good stuff, almost like upbeat indie pop rock, but with tough vibrato laden jazzy vocals. Bridge is a noisy, slow paced trudge, then back to verse.
3. (3:51) *slow, ethereal slide guitar, trance/bluesy/much vibrato. Heavy noisy ending.
4. (2:41) ** Great song, several change ups, cool lyrics. More upbeat and less doomy than other tracks. Heavy percussion at times.
5. (3:42) ** Acoustic intro, great vocals and bass addition. Something like a chill indie rock song with xylophone, except it is soul with a doomy bridge.
6. (3:06) **Synth piano intro, then picks up with pulsating guitar, drums, and wall of sound synth in the background. “Stick to your guns”
7. (4:23) ** Weird song with muted brass. Chill guitar and drums. Soulful vocals, love it.
8. (2:38) **Guitar riff intro, repeats through much of song. Back-up singers. Drums through most of song.
9. (4:35) Slow, trudging bass drum, picks up with percussion smash and jazzy vocals. Lot of noise, then at 1:30 holds back for vocals. Repeats noisy smash.
10. (3:55) Melancholy trumpet and sparse piano, jazzy vibrato laden vocals.

Track Listing
1. A Broken Memory   6. Let Loose The Dogs
2. Bodies At Bay   7. Absisto
3. Old Knives   8. Living Signs
4. A Quiet Chill   9. A Formal Invitation
5. Exit Plan   10. A Season Of Doubt