Bosso, Fabrizio And Javier Grotto / Latin Mood
Album: Latin Mood   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Bosso, Fabrizio And Javier Grotto   Added:Nov 2014
Label:Schema Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-11-07 Pull Date: 2015-01-09 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jan 11 Jan 4 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 7 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16
Airplays: 1 4 3 2 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 06, 2015: Jump, Jive, & Jazz
4. Dec 30, 2014: Jump, Jive, and Jazz
A Taste Of Honey
2. Jan 03, 2015: Music Casserole
5. Dec 29, 2014: Clean Copper Radio
3. Dec 31, 2014: 12-31-2014
In A Sentimental Mood, Vamos
6. Dec 26, 2014: Rebop (Christmas Edition)

Album Review
Reviewed 2014-11-08
General Description:
A competent jazz album shared equally by trumpeter Fabrizio Bosso and saxophonist Javier Girotto with a Latin flavor and mostly upbeat songs.
– Musicians:
Fabrizio Bosso - Italian trumpeter
Javier Girotto - Argentinian saxophonist; Berklee College of Music graduate
Natalio Mangalavite - Italian pianist, arranger and composer
Luca Bulgarelli - Italian bass player (electric bass on this CD)
Lorenzo Tucci - Italian drummer
Bruno Marcozzi - Italian percussionist
– Notes:
Bulgarelli - vocals & guitar on track 6
– FCC Compliant: YES
– Recommended Tracks: 1, 7
– Track Reviews:
1. ***(4:36) Vamos - very fast; 'Vamos' (VAH-mohs) translates 'let's go', unison intro, then piano leads the jam with soprano sax used in its first solo, followed by a rich trumpet that blasts at times, then the conversation begins between the two, exciting energy ending on a high note
2. *(4:27) Walz Del Clavel - medium; 'WAHLZ deh clah-VEHL' translates 'waltz of the carnation', unison delivery of a song that swings gracefully through the air, trumpet solos first, then soprano sax is a bit raw
3. *(4:32) Algo Contigo - mellow; brushed percussion, 'Algo Contigo' (AHL-goh kohn-TEE-goh) translates 'something with you', vocals (FCC: have not translated lyrics)
4. *(3:48) In A Sentimental Mood - upbeat and syncopated; unison delivery mostly with standard piano rhythmic backing before solos, baritone sax used
5. *(5:21) El Mastropiero - fast percussion over block piano chords gives it a fast/slow feel before the smooth trumpet enters and then is joined by soprano sax, piano given the delicate parts of this piece
6. *(3:57) Sophia - medium; voice and trumpet enter together and sing together leisurely, soprano sax slides warmly in the background until it boldly solos
7. ***(3:10) A Taste Of Honey - fast; the old Herb Alpert hit with a distinctive Latin twist and a brassy almost flatulent baritone sax in play
8. **(7:20) Teorema - medium; 'Teorema' (tee-oh-REH-mah) translates 'theorem', casual piece with the percussion standing out more than usual, long piano solo, then trumpet, baritone sax, nice punctuated ending
9. *(5:54) Africa Es - bright and lively; very syncopated, soprano sax with mute gives it a certain distant quality, lots of high pitches, loses itself at times, percussion solo
10. *(5:52) Mathias - mellow; baritone sax talking with the piano about how the night went, electric bass solo
11. *(6:18) Maragliao - fast-paced; 'Maragliao' (mah-rah-yee-AH-oh) unison playing, electric bass solo, soprano sax, arpeggiating and huffing sort of piece with the piano keeping everyone in line

Track Listing
1. Vamos   6. Sophia
2. Waltz Del Claveil   7. A Taste Of Honey
3. Algo Contigo   8. Teorema
4. In A Sentimental Mood   9. Africa Es
5. El Mastropiero   10. Mathias
  11. Maragliao