Incite / Up In Hell
Album: Up In Hell   Collection:General
Artist:Incite   Added:Nov 2014
Label:Army Of Darkness  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-05-01 Pull Date: 2015-07-03 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Jul 5 Jun 28
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 02, 2015: What was scene?
False Flag
2. Jun 27, 2015: What was scene?
Up In Hell

Album Review
jessica rylan
Reviewed 2015-04-29
Incite - Up in Hell
Minus Head Records

Up in Hell is Phoenix, Arizona-based quartet Incite’s third studio album. The production by Matt Hyde (Deftones, Slayer, Hatebreed) gives the record a thick, arena-ready sound. Minus Head is located in San Francisco, so it’s perhaps expected that Incite has a strong thrash influence, which they blend with some more hardcore-flavored riffs, and a similar kind of ignorant white male anger as Five Finger Death Punch. The first two tracks are burners, but unfortunately the quality of songwriting progressively deteriorates over the album, with an over-reliance on unison riffing and spectacularly uncreative drum work, to ensure that Incite will remain openers for the foreseeable future.

RIYL: Five Finger Death Punch, Bury Your Dead, free-floating ignorant anger

FCC: 2, 5, 9 (casual profanity - should be safe harbor ok - lyrics are not easy to understand)
Standouts: 1, 2, 3, 10

1 Up in Hell 4:11 - When they break into the Metallica-inspired majestic theme, it’s a terrific surprise!

2 wtf 3:37 - A solid track, the guitar riff on the chorus is one of the album’s more memorable and inspired.

3 False Flag 3:16 - Interesting rhythmic variation during the chorus, but the chugging starts

4 Fallen 4:01 - a plodder but the melody is decent

5 Rightful Spot 3:14 - More of a Pantera-by-way-of hardcore vibe, but loses focus and chugs out

6 Rise to greatness 3:19 - From here out they sound like they’re sleep-walking

7 Who am I 3:56 - zzz

8 Still Here 3:06 - Double-time start, but runs out of gas

9 Losing Grip 3:33 - zzz

10 To the Depths 3:52 - solid and mildly engaging

Track Listing
1. Up In Hell   6. Rise To Greatness
2. Wtf   7. Who Am I
3. False Flag   8. Still Here
4. Fallen   9. Losing Grip
5. Rightful Spot   10. To The Depths