Black Strobe / Godforsaken Roads
Album: Godforsaken Roads   Collection:General
Artist:Black Strobe   Added:Dec 2014
Label:Blackstrobe Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2014-12-05 Pull Date: 2015-02-06
Week Ending: Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25 Jan 18 Jan 11 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 16, 2015: Mix Tape
House Of Godd Lovin'
4. Jan 24, 2015: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Folsom Prison Blues
2. Feb 03, 2015: Mix Tape
Dumped Boogie
5. Jan 24, 2015: Mix Tape
Folsom Prison Blues
3. Jan 29, 2015: Mix Tape
Broken Phone Blues
6. Jan 17, 2015: Mix Tape
Dumped Boogie

Album Review
Wallace Brontoon
Reviewed 2014-12-05
Tennessee Ernie Ford/Johnny Cash meets Goldfrapp --> electro-blues like David Lynch. Arnaud Rebotini (from...), who has two groups-- one he's merely" surrounded by his "favorite machines" (to quote), this is a four-person. Godforsaken Roads is the band's second release. The cover takes graphic cues from 1960s Nashville.

His off-kilter energy, accented English, and general weirdness is terrific. 

RIYL: Suicide, David Lynch, bizarre Elvis impersonators
No FCCs.

1. (4:34) *** Jazzy drum taps into discoey organ thump -- against glummed, cavernish vox. Heavy wall of glam.
2. (3:35) *** Thrashed skrutty guitar. Deranged boogie-woogie vox turn into glammy beat... "she's a cool cool cat"
3. (4:04) *** Pure twang guitar ... howling, pre-verbal vocal intonations... "calling me..." ohh...ohh BG. EARTHY.
4. (6:39) Frantic, tappy, growly stomper -- becomes more disco-ey -- halfway turns with Kraftwerky type-shiver....
5. (5:09) ***** "You got no brother" "I got millions of brothers" Blues from robot, nightmare w/ clattering, but weird grounded HUMANNESS. Stretches and surges.
6. (3:34) ******* Minimalist Folsom Prison cover w/ Twinkly Synths.
7. (3:20) * Acoustic. "Going down a river with a Gypsy woman..." Swampy guitar; bayou-rock with bloppy beat.
8. (3:17) ***** Chris Isaak-y, but more deranged, with oscillo-freakout sounds. Full-out mental breakdown with laser-gun sounds by end.
9. (4:25) ** That Goldfrappy thump is here... "I don't want to sing about hillbillies" Heavy curtain of fuzzy electro, glum moping.
10. (4:31) More dancey, discoey; not entirely successful. A bit too peppy.
11. (4:01) * Less earthy, more ethereal. (Dancey) There's a great keyboard solo halfway through that's done all with one finger; really elementary and strange.
12. (3:29) "Boogie in Zero Gravity." Dorky teutonic funk.
13. (4:40) ***** Rockabilly licks, muffled vox, into heavy vocoder and MEGA-fuzzed guitars. Spooky airs, general weirdness. Fantastic.

Track Listing
1. Broken Phone Blues   7. Swamp Fever
2. Monkey Glands   8. House Of Godd Lovin'
3. He Keeps On Calling Me   9. Dumped Boogie
4. Blues Fight   10. From The Gutter
5. For Those Who Came On Earth Thru The Devil's Asshole   11. Going Back Home
6. Folsom Prison Blues   12. Boogie In Zero Gravity
  13. Promised Moon