Casablancas, Julian + The Voidz / Tyranny
Album: Tyranny   Collection:General
Artist:Casablancas, Julian + The Voidz   Added:Jan 2015
Label:Cult Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-01-09 Pull Date: 2015-03-13
Week Ending: Mar 8 Feb 22 Feb 8 Jan 25 Jan 18
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. May 10, 2023: Music to Walk HomeBy
Human Sadness
4. Feb 03, 2015: The Fishbowl
Father Electricity
2. Mar 07, 2015: Freshman Phenomenon DJ AY's Name
Business Dog
5. Jan 22, 2015: Meow
Father Electricity
3. Feb 19, 2015: Live Your Life
Father Electricity
6. Jan 20, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [W1502]
Father Electricity

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-01-09
This is the side project of Julian Casablancas from The Strokes. It’s an attempt at being having a bit of a darker side. He plays with dissonance and distortion, sometimes well, sometimes not so much (but hey that’s just my opinion).
Picks: 7, 9, 11
FCCs: 4, 9 (maybe), 10, 11

1. (4:21) Muffled vocals over industrial percussions with ominous hum.
2. (4:51) More upbeat. Sounds like it could be a Strokes track but with added distortion.
3. (2:33) Galloping drums and loud guitars.
4. (10:57) Starts off with slow & sweet strings with soft vox, which get increasingly distorted over time. The second half of the song is in the same style as the rest of the album. FCC (“Fuck depression”)
5. (3:44) Their hit track. Alternates between a catchy bassline and an angry Julian Casablancas.
6. (7:24)* Builds up to what sounds like an island drum beat (if that makes sense) layered with distortion. Has nice calm interludes of guitar plucking.
7. (6:01) Once again sounds more like a Strokes track. Jumpy cymbals with catchy guitar riffs.
8. (2:35) Fast-paced and rough. Alternates between upbeat verses, and semi-screamer interludes. There’s an FCC (“fuck”), but it’s bleeped out.
9. (5:05)** Dissonant and ghostly with clunky percussions. FCC maybe? (“Bitch”) It’s kind of hard to hear what he’s saying.
10. (6:08) Kind of stressful, sounds like it could be in a chase scene for a movie at times. Intense crescendo of guitars for the second portion of the track. FCC (“Fuck” multiple times)
11. (5:55)* Alternates between relatively light-hearted, slow-dancing portions (with distorted jingles), and dark interludes with sharp guitars. Earns a star for the last minute and a half of layered and enveloping vocals. Pretty sweet. FCC (“Motherfucker”).
12. (3:18) Slow and melancholic ending to the album. Pained vocals over despondent guitar plucking and a sort of white noise hum in the background.

Track Listing
1. Take Me In Your Army   7. Father Electricity
2. Crunch Punch   8. Johan Von Bronx
3. M.Utually A.Ssured   9. Business Dog
4. D.Estruction   10. Xerox
5. Human Sadness   11. Dare I Care
6. Where No Eagles Fly   12. Nintendo Blood
  13. Off To War...