Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Geographer / Ghost Modern
Album:Ghost Modern Collection:General
Artist:Geographer Added:Feb 2015
Label:Roll Call Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2015-02-06 Pull Date:2015-04-10 
Week Ending:Apr 5Mar 29Mar 22Mar 15Mar 8Mar 1Feb 22Feb 15

 Recent Airplay
1.Jul 26, 2018:I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
The Fire Is Coming, Too Much, Need
4.Oct 09, 2015:Time Traveler
I'm Ready
2.Jul 19, 2018:I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
You Say You Love Me
5.Apr 03, 2015:Time Traveler
Too Much
3.Jul 14, 2018:Road Trip
I'm Ready
6.Apr 02, 2015:Meow
I'm Ready

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2015-02-05 
“Ghost Modern” Geographer
San Francisco indie electro-pop artists, Geographer, will release their 3rd album, “Ghost Modern,” on March 10th. Geographer’s brand of electro-pop is intricate and, according to lead vocalist and multi-instrumentalist, Mike Deni, “past Postmodernism into something darker, something emptier: Ghost Modernism.” Songs have multiple layers of sonic surfaces and textures. Deni truly expresses his artistry in every composition — with sensitive, revealing lyrics and precisely produced arrangements. Other members of the band include cellist/electronics player, Nathan Blaz, and drummer/vocalist, Brian Ostreicher. The tracks can vary from fully orchestrated chamber pop with intermixed effects to catchy melodic pop — and everything in-between. The band will be appearing as part of Noise Pop 2015 at the Fox Theater in Oakland on Friday, February 27th.
— Francis

Recommended: 2, 5, 12, 3, 8, 9. No FCCs detected.

1. (0:43) Intro – Ghostly, synth-stringed introduction — very short.
2. (3:41) I’m Ready – Dynamic electro-pop with “swelling sonic structures” matched by Deni’s amazing vocal range. He glides effortlessly from his natural voice to soaring falsettos. Full string accompaniment. ****
3. (3:31) Need – Tribal sound. Bigger — closer to power pop. Tumbling timpani drums. Amazing vocal gymnastics. ***
4. (3:51) You Say You Love Me – Funky, syncopated indie rock. Pulsing synths, along with electronic effects. Cool arpeggios. Swirling lead break.
5. (4:23) Too Much – Mellow and lighter than air. Very luxurious. Another great example of how Deni glides through his vocal range. Becomes fully orchestrated — almost to the point of chamber pop. ****
6. (3:35) The Guest — Playful, bouncy tune. Relaxed tempo and effortless vocals. Builds in choruses with full orchestration, including brass (or synth brass).
7. (1:56) Read your Palm – Dreamy. Harp-like synths. Angelic vocals. Short tune.
8. (4:05) The Fire Is Coming – Complex, busy drum patterns. Fuzzy synths. Ominous vocals, relentlessly climbing. Guitar-driven lead break. ***
9. (4:04) Patience – Simple and austere. Glistening, almost Asian-sounding synth arpeggios. Delicate piano. Smooth vocals and strings. Very patient melody. ***
10. (3:29) Keep – Straight-ahead, melodic indie pop-rock. Intertwined pulsing synth and drum beats. Strong guitars.
11. (0:23) Interlude – Very, very short string interlude to set up last track.
12. (3:45) Falling Apart – Wistful composition with something of a world beat. Melody swells and builds. Creatively layered strings and guitar. Very introspective feeling. ***

Track Listing
1.Intro 7.Read Your Palm
2.I'm Ready 8.The Fire Is Coming
3.Need 9.Patience
4.You Say You Love Me 10.Keep
5.Too Much 11.Interlude
6.The Guest 12.Falling Apart