Lloyd, Charles / Wild Man Dance
Album: Wild Man Dance   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Lloyd, Charles   Added:Apr 2015
Label:Blue Note Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-05-29 Pull Date: 2015-07-31 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jul 19 Jul 12 Jul 5 Jun 28 Jun 14
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 24, 2022: Rebop (rebroadcast from Aug 7, 2015)
Flying Over The Odra Valley
4. Jul 17, 2015: Rebop
2. Sep 02, 2016: Rebop
5. Jul 10, 2015: Rebop
3. Aug 07, 2015: Rebop
Flying Over The Odra Valley
6. Jul 03, 2015: Rebop

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2015-05-23

Charles Lloyd leads a quartet (his tenor sax with piano, bass & drums) augmented by Greek lyra & Hungarian cymbalom (dulcimer), resulting in a fascinating mix of new American and old European textures and emotions. This live work was commissioned for Jazztopad Festival (Poland) in Nov 2013. Movements flow together, and each has considerable development, so track descriptions are approximate.

All instrumental. No FCC issues.

1 Very slow. First just lyra & cymbalom; sax enters after a few mins. Very somber. (11:00)
2 ** Slow. Piano & lyra search for a start. Sax assumes the lead on a melodic ballad. (8:12)
3 * Very slow at first, gains pace. Piano & bowed lyra have deep & lovely duet. (13:21)
4 *** Solo piano intro is slow & introspective. When sax, bass & drums enter, the mood and tempo both pick up. Turns into a lively hard-bop toe-tapper. Quite enjoyable. Long bass solo in middle. Second half features the European instruments much more. (16:08)
5 Applause to start. Slow & mysterious. Bowed bass & bowed lyra with just a hint of piano and brushed drums. Central European folksong touches. Sax ballad in middle. (10:34)
6 * A entire suite in itself. Solo piano starts: gentle & lovely. Short sax lead with bass & drums. A lively second half with full band, showcasing virtuosity on both stringed instruments. Ends and applause starts w 1’40” to go. (15:15)

Track Listing
1. Flying Over The Odra Valley   4. River
2. Gardner   5. Invitation
3. Lark   6. Wild Man Dance