Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Wire / Wire
Album:Wire Collection:General
Artist:Wire Added:04/2015

A-File Activity
Add Date:2015-05-02 Pull Date:2015-07-03 
Week Ending:5 Jul28 Jun21 Jun14 Jun7 Jun31 May24 May17 May

 Recent Airplay
1.May 22, 2019:Brownian Motion
4.Dec 18, 2015:In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand: Best of 2015 [FQ1511-2]
2.Apr 03, 2019:Take a spin
5.Jul 03, 2015:Time Traveler
3.Jan 30, 2019:Take a spin
6.Jun 26, 2015:Pentagonal Banana

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2015-05-07 
Wire’s self-titled album, their fourteenth in their career, is less ambitious than 2013’s Change Becomes Us - maybe in part because with Wire, they’re interested in cohesiveness and directness. It feels more like a visual artist’s body of work ready to be exhibited where similarities and qualities are shared throughout all the pieces. This doesn’t mean that this is a standard rock album; this is a Wire standard album – this is one of the bands that invented post punk. If we need it to compare it with their previous albums, Wire shares similar structure and instrumentation but is less electronic than their 1987 album, The Ideal Copy.

RIYL: Wire.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, and 9

1. (3:46) **Blogging – Wire 101. Nice upbeat intro track with memorable melody and vocals. Technology dependency for everyone.
2. (3:17) *Shifting – A Wire ballad. Fond.
3. (3:17) Burning Bridges – Another reflective ballad. Interesting guitar parts.
4. (2:41) *In Manchester – History lesson? Personal thoughts? Catchy tune.
5. (1:52) High – Short strange upbeat track.
6. (7:30) Sleep-Walking – Long slow tune with progressive rock tendencies.
7. (2:12) *Joust & Jostle – Trippy upbeat song. Addictive.
8. (4:17) *Swallow – This feels like the epilogue of the previous track.
9. (3:30) **Split Your Ends – Wire narrating a children’s story. Cool guitars.
10. (3:16) Octopus – Wire 101. Fast guitars.
11. (8:23) Harpooned – Another long tack with repetition and distortion for everyone.

Track Listing
1.Blogging 6.Sleep-Walking
2.Shifting 7.Joust & Jostle
3.Burning Bridges 8.Swallow
4.In Manchester 9.Split Your Ends
5.High 10.Octopus