Van Etten, Sharon / I Don't Want To Let You Down
Album: I Don't Want To Let You Down   Collection:General
Artist:Van Etten, Sharon   Added:Jun 2015

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-06-12 Pull Date: 2015-08-14
Week Ending: Aug 16 Aug 2 Jul 26 Jul 19 Jul 12 Jul 5 Jun 28 Jun 21
Airplays: 2 3 2 2 2 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 03, 2016: Meow: The Best Of 2015
I Don't Want To Let You Down
4. Aug 10, 2015: Meow For Monday
I Always Fall Apart
2. Aug 12, 2015: ZoëRadio
Pay My Debts
5. Jul 30, 2015: Clean Copper Radio
I Don't Want To Let You Down
3. Aug 11, 2015: Meow
I Don't Want To Let You Down
6. Jul 29, 2015: ZoëRadio
I Always Fall Apart

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2015-06-12
“I Don’t Want to Let You Down” EP Sharon Van Etten
5-song set of rock and folk-rock songs. Largely an extension 2014’s full-length “Are We There,” the songs take a last look at a relationship that came apart as Van Etten sought to build her career as a singer-songwriter. As is typical of her, the tracks are brutally honest — as critical of Van Etten herself as of her lover. Because these tracks didn’t make “Are We There,” one might expect this to be a second-rate collection. But it’s a solid addition to what’s fast-becoming an impressive body of work for the Brooklyn-based artist.
— Francis

Recommended: 3, 4, 1.

1. (4:01) I Don’t Want to Let You Down — Easy rolling melody with lovely, thrumming, reverbed guitar, bass and drums. Van Etten’s plaintive vocals quaver and drift. Electric guitar trail-out. ***
2. (4:40) Just Like Blood — Piano and warbling Wurlitzer organ set the tone for this pensive melody. You can almost feel the weight of the world on Van Etten through her lethargic vocal stylings.
3. (3:18) I Always Fall Apart — Fabulous, precise piano ballad. Wistful, harmonized vocals. Strings layered under. Incisive lyrics. “It’s not my fault/It’s just my flaw/It’s who I am,” she sings. Heartbreaking. ****
4. (5:14) Pay my Debts — Synth-driven rock. Departure from the rest of the set, but great! Ominous, piercing synth tones underscored by thumping bass line. Rich orchestral accompaniment. Powerful vocals. ****
5. (4:59) Tell Me (Live) — Live version of a B-side song written during the making of her third album, “Tramp.” Straight-ahead rock with Van Etten’s languid vocals — backed by strummed guitar.

Track Listing
1. I Don't Want To Let You Down   3. I Always Fall Apart
2. Just Like Blood   4. Pay My Debts
  5. Tell Me (Live)