Nelson, Zac / New Once
Album: New Once   Collection:General
Artist:Nelson, Zac   Added:Jun 2015
Label:Styles Upon Styles Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-06-26 Pull Date: 2015-08-28
Week Ending: Aug 9 Aug 2 Jul 26 Jul 12
Airplays: 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 05, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
Send My Body To Her
4. Jul 20, 2015: Shytown
Her Daddy Broke
2. Jul 31, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
Outey Smoke
5. Jul 10, 2015: Breakaway Bluff
Weak Robe
3. Jul 20, 2015: Meow
Her Daddy Broke
6. Jul 05, 2015: Septagonal Banana
Let This Unravel

Album Review
Reviewed 2015-06-26
Experimental psychey pop.
Sacramento-based Zac Nelson shared a producer with Animal Collective and Owen Pallett, and though his album bears some resemblance to those artists, it’s refreshing nonetheless. Nine short tunes ranging from acoustic twangy flirting with melancholy (4, 8) to energetic electro-percussive (2, 6, 8). Really cool overall. Male vox unless noted.
RIYL Animal Collective, Of Montreal, Dntel, Mac Demarco. Check out 2,4,5,7,8,9

1. Send My Body to Her (1:35) mid. dizzying spiral guitar riff, awesome off-putting beat, high strange vocals.
2. *Some Are This (2:11) med-fast. great immediate percussion and synth, shimmering, hazy.
3. Weak Robe (2:11) metallic disjointed beat. calming, slowly wandering. Panda-Bear/AC-esque. lovely xylophone-y fade out.
4. **Her Daddy Broke (2:10) slow. more defined, pensive picking joined by high pitched drony thing and eerie layered high-pitched vox. good stuff.
5. *Outey Smoke (1:16) med-slow. nice laid-back acoustic & drums, echoey mellow vox, dies abruptly.
6. Let This Unravel (2:18) med-fast. pounding, catchy beat, happy jungle acid
7. *Pansize (2:14) mid. noisy echoing/distorted electro beat, female backing?. each melody leaves you hanging over another eerie hum.
8. **Prickette (3:17) mid. dissonant persistent acoustic strum with great but not overwhelming bass and percussion. Walter TV/Mac Demarco esque. swirly elements of psych rock/pop.
9. *Ex-Stream-Esque (4:16) fast. instrumental. picks up where #6 left off, cool catchy tribal beat layered with electronic 8-bit-like pieces. picks up in last minute and a half.

Track Listing
1. Send My Body To Her   5. Outey Smoke
2. Some Are This   6. Let This Unravel
3. Weak Robe   7. Pansize
4. Her Daddy Broke   8. Prickette
  9. Ex-Stream-Esque