Eternal Summers / Gold And Stone
Album: Gold And Stone   Collection:General
Artist:Eternal Summers   Added:Jul 2015
Label:Kanine Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-08-07 Pull Date: 2015-10-09
Week Ending: Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 20 Sep 13 Sep 6 Aug 30 Aug 23
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 09, 2021: Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Oct 2, 2015)
Black Diamond
4. Jan 08, 2016: Time Traveler (Top 34 of 2015)
Gold And Stone
2. Mar 25, 2016: Time Traveler
Gold And Stone
5. Dec 04, 2015: Time Traveler
Gold And Stone
3. Feb 05, 2016: Time Traveler
Gold And Stone
6. Oct 16, 2015: Time Traveler
Ebb Tide

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2015-08-04
“Gold and Stone” Eternal Summers
Eternal Summers is a versatile indie rock trio out of Roanoke, Virginia. The band was started in 2009 as a surf-rock group by singer/guitarist, Nicole Yun and drummer/guitarist, Daniel Cundiff. But Jonathan Woods has since been added as its permanent bassist/synth player, and the band has grown to be quite proficient with anything from dream- or garage-rock to power-pop or punk. There’s excellent guitar work throughout. “Gold and Stone” is the band’s fourth full-length album in just six years.
— Francis

Recommended: 3, 2, 5, 8, 7. No FCCs detected.

1. (2:05) Unassigned – Slow and jangly opener with stunning, soaring vocals over big guitars. Rush of noise added for the last 35 seconds. (Could segue directly into the next track.)
2. (3:50) Together or Alone – Power-pop anthem with big ringing guitars. Vocals start way down in the mix, with some lyrics shouted and snarled. ***
3. (3:27) Gold and Stone – Up-tempo, jangle rock with shimmering synth under, pounding drums and silky smooth, dreamy vocals by Yun. (Again, segues directly into next track.) ****
4. (3:26) The Roses – Bouncing and jangly, with wistful vocals. Brief, edgy guitar in the break.
5. (3:26) Black Diamond – Punky break-up song. Vocals snarled with attitude. Reverbed guitars and tight drumming. “If you want, I could be strung up in pearls for you/If you want, I could wear your black diamond.” ***
6. (3:08) Come Alive – Lounge pop with a rapid bass line matched by guitar at times. Dreamy vocals act as a counterpoint to the energetic arrangement.
7. (3:57) Ebb Tide – Simple melody with breathy lead vocals by drummer Cundiff. Jangly guitars and backbeat drums. Very Real Estate sounding. **
8. (2:46) Play Dead – Fuzz rocker, with Yun’s dreamy vocals shifting into punky barks at times. Longer lead break, with excellent guitar licks. ***
9. (3:23) Stars You Named – Jangly and ultra-dreamy, slow-burn ballad. Great lead guitar in the break by Cundiff.
10. (3:00) Bloom – Big guitar psyche anthem. Big guitars. Big drums. Even bigger vocals.

Track Listing
1. Unassigned   6. Come Alive
2. Together Or Alone   7. Ebb Tide
3. Gold And Stone   8. Play Dead
4. The Roses   9. Stars You Named
5. Black Diamond   10. Bloom