Ostermeier, M / Still
Album: Still   Collection:General
Artist:Ostermeier, M   Added:Jul 2015

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-08-17 Pull Date: 2015-10-19 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Oct 11 Oct 4 Sep 27 Sep 13 Sep 6 Aug 30 Aug 23
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 4 4

Recent Airplay
1. May 18, 2024: Music Casserole
4. Sep 22, 2015: Narnia
2. Oct 10, 2015: Narnia
5. Sep 12, 2015: BravoMarco Variety Show
3. Oct 03, 2015: BravoMarco Variety Show
6. Sep 01, 2015: Narnia

Album Reviews
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2015-08-15
Minimalist experimental electronic. Imagine someone sitting outside quietly touching a few chords on the piano and you’ll have a good feel for this. Deep bass notes add depth and a nice richness. The album as a whole is serene, possessed of gentle focus. It won’t wake you up in the morning, but it will put you in a thoughtful mood. Definitely recommended.

Try any track. 4 is probably my favorite.

1) “Statis” (5:30): Intermittent pulsing. Faint organic clicking sounds on top. Very peaceful, quiet.
2) “Division” (6:05): Crackling ice. Chords from the piano.
3) “Hang” (1:30): Just piano. Plays a few chords, vanishes.
4) “Counterpoise” (5:20): Quick electronic pulses, tightly balanced. Knocking. Clicking.
5) “New Lights” (3:05): Piano plays a greater role here, intricate series of chords.
6) “Congruence” (2:30): Deep bass pulses open, with piano on top in a higher register. Tension provided by couple of high screeching noises, like insects passing by.
7) “Inertia” (7:10): Chirping sound, kind of like an insect, but more regular. More deep bass pulses.
8) “Parity” (3:20): Bass is a bit more active here, several notes throbbing together.

--Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2015-08-15
M Ostermeier
Reviewed by BravoMarco

New 2015 release from M Ostermier (also a member of Should) as the liner states “...poignant & at times avant-garde piano style mixed with the spare use of electronics & processed acoustic recordings.” Quality release, especially during those mellow times of your KZSU show.
Like: Minimalist piano infused with low-key effected ambience.
Loving: 1,2,7
No FCC’s (Instrumentals)

1) Stasis (5.31) Subtle drone & piano blending perfectly. The scratching gnawing sounds add to the occasion.
2) Division (6.11) Carries on with the serene feel. Extra swirling sounds than the previous.
3) Hang (1.33) Stark.
4) Counterpoise (5.20) The pace is picked up. Mild looped electronica with piano as an accompaniment.
5) New Lights (3.07) Combining the classical with the electronica, remains calming & tranquil.
6) Congruence (2.34) A mild hum journeys on with the piano.
7) Inertia (7.19) Reflective piece starting with a low drone, the piano & various sounds complete this solemn picture. A bare beauty.
8) Parity (3.30) Has a darker more ominous quality. Drone, again working with the sparse piano.

Track Listing
1. Stasis   5. New Lights
2. Division   6. Congruence
3. Hang   7. Inertia
4. Counterpoise   8. Parity