Destroyer / Poison Season
Album: Poison Season   Collection:General
Artist:Destroyer   Added:Sep 2015
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-03-27 Pull Date: 2016-05-29
Week Ending: May 29 May 15 May 8 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10 Apr 3
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 4 4 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 16, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Dec 10, 2021)
Times Square
4. Jul 22, 2016: Time Traveler
Times Square
2. Dec 10, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Times Square
5. Jun 01, 2016: Kick Out The Blues
Times Square
3. Aug 25, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Times Square
6. May 26, 2016: All Passion No Technique
Times Square

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-03-25
Dan Bejar returns after 2011's excellent Kaputt with his newest LP, characterized by outsized adoration tempered with sumptuous melancholy. He incorporates more jazz and trip-hop influences and his voice sounds fantastic per usual. Lyrics tend towards skyward metaphors about love and allusions to Jesus Christ and can be a bit corny sometimes.

RIYL Cass McCombs, Broken Social Scene, Kurt Vile, The Besnard Lakes
FCC: 2
Favorites: 3, 5, 7, 12

1. (2:33) Times Square, Poison Season I—Strings and piano melody, sincere vocals. Intriguing lyrics about whether Jesus saves. The precursor to track 7.
2. (3:49) Dream Lover—FCC: "shit". Springsteen-style anthem about being passionately in love. Triumphant saxophone, horns, and fast percussion. Dreamy, hopelessly love-stricken lyrics. Instrumental breakdown in last minute.
3. (5:52) **Forces from Above—30-second ambient intro, then strings, tapping beat, and Dan Bejar's low, vulnerable vocals. Steadily builds in more instruments. Explodes into the groove at 2:00. Beautiful lyrical imagery. Alternates between quiet passages with congas and loud, triumphant passages. Exceptionally strong vocal delivery. One of my favorite songs of 2015.
4. (3:18) Hell—Dan wants you to know that on the inside, he's an ocean. Bright, cheerful strings contrasted with more somber sax. "Every time I try to look into your eyes, an angel flies by" wowowow so touching. Abrupt transition at 1:56 into added slide guitar, keyboards, and drums.
5. (3:36) *The River—Horn-laden lounge jazz + trip-hop. Beautiful slide guitar starts a minute in and continues throughout.
6. (3:05) Girl in a Sling—Slow, elegiac piano ballad. Smoky strings and sax solo at 0:52.
7. (4:11) **Times Square—Fast acoustic guitar, gliding keyboards, and gorgeous sax. Catchy. "The writing on the wall wasn't writing at all / Just forces of nature in love with a radio station" shoutout 2 us
8. (4:56) Archer on the Beach—More smoky lounge jazz, this time with whispered vocals.
9. (3:25) Midnight Meet the Rain—Piano and fast drumming. Weird/abrupt brief effected guitar solo at 0:55. Chaotic and frenetic.
10. (3:44) Solace's Bride—Delicate. Soft fingerpicked guitar plus piano and strings. Rich, full-bodied electric guitar comes in halfway.
11. (5:14) Bangkok—Melancholic remembrance on Bangkok. Maudlin sax and piano. Picks up markedly in the second half. A bit haphazard.
12. (5:34) **Sun in the Sky—Lush, more upbeat ballad featuring congas. Great variations with the sax here. Stunning.
13. (3:02) Times Square, Poison Season II—Softer, solely piano/vocals/strings version of track 7.

Track Listing
1. Time Square, Poison Season I   7. Times Square
2. Dream Lover   8. Archer On The Beach
3. Forces From Above   9. Midnight Meet The Rain
4. Hell   10. Solace's Bride
5. The River   11. Bangkok
6. Girl In A Sling   12. Sun In The Sky
  13. Time Square, Poison Season Il