Hecta / Diet, The
Album: Diet, The   Collection:General
Artist:Hecta   Added:Sep 2015
Label:Merge Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2015-09-27 Pull Date: 2015-11-29
Week Ending: Nov 29 Nov 22 Nov 8 Nov 1 Oct 25 Oct 18 Oct 11 Oct 4
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 03, 2015: Clean Copper Radio COP TALK
Sympathy For The Auto Industry
4. Nov 18, 2015: Home on the Range
Sympathy For The Auto Industry
2. Nov 26, 2015: Meow
Sympathy For The Auto Industry
5. Nov 07, 2015: Narnia
Sympathy For The Auto Industry
3. Nov 20, 2015: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand [FQ158-2]
Till Somone Gets Hurt
6. Oct 26, 2015: Everything A to Z week 17
Give Us Your Names, We Are Glistening

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2015-09-24
Three members of weirdo alt-country masters Lambchop got together and created...an electronic dance album? I was puzzled too, but then I started listening to the thing. A lot of the special ingredients that make Lambchop great are still here: the warm and enveloping textures, frontman Kurt Wagner's sentimental and surreal grandpa-on-the-front-porch vocals. And the beats—I never thought I'd say this about a Lambchop-related album—the beats actually BANG. This is legit dance music, not some gimmick. (And if you've never listened to Lambchop, they're really worth checking out.)
Favorites: 1, 2, 4, 7. FCC WARNING: 5.

1. *(3:47)—Medium-fast, pumping, grinding, funky, upbeat house.
2. *(5:31)—Mid-tempo. Elements of disco and new wave. Immensely catchy and hypnotic.
3. (3:42)—Fast, angular, driving, bouncy, four-on-the-floor.
4. *(5:14)—Medium-slow, really pretty, melancholy downtempo.
5. (3:32)—FCC WARNING (s***). Mid-tempo. Skittery rhythms and samples from a Buddy Hackett comedy routine.
6. (4:18)—Mid-tempo, skittery again, with spaced-out rhythms and vocals.
7. *(3:41)—Mid-tempo, chilled-out. Finger snap sounds, glitchy synths. If it weren't for the drum pads, this would sound a lot like Lambchop.
8. (3:40)—Fast, fuzzed-out breakbeats. Squelching synths.
9. (4:03)—Mid-tempo, four-on-the-floor with a weird mix of dark textures and sparkling synths.

Track Listing
1. Till Somone Gets Hurt   5. The Concept
2. Sympathy For The Auto Industry   6. Change In Our Pocket
3. Prettyghetto   7. We Are Glistening
4. Like You're Worth It   8. Give Us Your Names
  9. We Bitched We Bovvered And We Bulldered