Various Artists / Scottish Folk, The Ultimate Guide Cd I
Album: Scottish Folk, The Ultimate Guide Cd I   Collection:World
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jan 2016
Label:Arc Music Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-02-02 Pull Date: 2016-04-02 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Apr 3 Mar 13 Feb 21 Feb 14 Feb 7
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 14, 2018: Melange
Maccrimmon's Lament
4. Dec 29, 2016: Melange
No Gods & Precious Few Heroes, The Cascade Set
2. Nov 09, 2017: Melange
Maccrimmon's Lament, Sleepy Maggie
5. Oct 06, 2016: Melange
Sleepy Maggie
3. Jul 27, 2017: melange
No Gods & Precious Few Heroes, The Cascade Set
6. Apr 01, 2016: Celtic By Caronis
The Cascade Set, Sleepy Maggie, Maccrimmon's Lament

Album Review
Margy Kahn
Reviewed 2016-01-27
Wide range of well-played Scottish music by all the well-known performers; good mixture of musical styles, instruments, moods, locales; Favorites 6, 9, 10, 15, 16;17 No FCC's detected

1- 5:06-Guitar, button accordion, fiddle; rich and full, lively; modern take on old tunes

2-4:08 – quietly contemplative with female vocalist singing Gaelic lyrics with piano and fiddle

3-4:48 – Kansas City hornpipe – rollicking pipe and well-picked guitar (Fred Morrison comp.)

4-2:56 – quiet ballad sung by Dougie McClean; Scottish accented English

5-3:02 – The Bluebell Polka with accordion; very popular Scottish dance tune

*6-2:49 –piper set interspersed with harp, faerie-like in parts, gets louder, heavier

7 – 3:52 – Gaelic lyrics sung in soprano voice; Joanna Newsom fans might like this

8- 3:03 --”Will Ye Go to Flanders” sung by Mick West and Co.; nice harmony on chorus

*9- 5:26 – “Sleepy Maggie” with electronic flourishes; great fast fiddle tune sung in Gaelic

*10- 6:40- MacCrimmon's Lament in Gaelic and English; beautifully sung with bagpipe drone

11-3:25 – modern non-traditional anti-war song with piano

12-2:12 –MacKenzie sisters harmonize in Gaelic to celebrate war veteran

13-5:26 - “When Harry Met Shelley” traditional fiddle tune; lively Cape Breton style

14 –2:37-- traditional ballad in English with sitar-like accompaniment

*15- 3:28-- Scots English ballad about a brave woman who pitted herself against her lover's enemy in the 1500's; quietly beautiful

*16- 4:18 – Blazin' Fiddles – fast, modulating, modern and traditional at the same time

*17 -3:56 – the great Dick Gaughan “No Gods and Precious Few Heroes”

18-5:05 –Red Hot Chilli Pipers –

19-3:51 – Nae Regrets – electronica, punk, Scottish version of “Je Ne Regrette Rien”

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Lau Intro To Hnba
2. Capercaillie Seinneam Cliu Nam Fear Ur
3. Fred Morrison Kansas City Hornpipe
4. Dougie Maclean Bonnie Bessie Logan
5. Sir Jimmy Shand The Bluebell Polka
6. Ceolbeg Zito The Bubbleman
7. Mischa Macpherson Cha D'fhuair Min Cadal
8. Mick West Will Ye Go Tae Flanders
9. Ashley Macisaac Sleepy Maggie
10. Heather Heywood Maccrimmon's Lament
11. Michael Marra Happed In Mist
12. Mackenzie Fighe Le Feur
13. Angus&Kenneth Mackenzie When Harry Met Shelly
14. Archie Fisher Reynardine
15. Iron Horse Helen Of Kirkconnel
16. Blazin' Fiddles The Cascade Set
17. Dick Gaughan No Gods & Precious Few Heroes
18. Red Hot Chilli Pipers We Will Fix You
19. Martyn Bennet Nae Regrets