El Vy / Return To The Moon
Album: Return To The Moon   Collection:General
Artist:El Vy   Added:Feb 2016

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-03-06 Pull Date: 2016-05-08
Week Ending: May 8 May 1 Apr 24 Apr 17 Apr 10 Apr 3 Mar 27 Mar 20
Airplays: 4 2 2 2 4 3 4 4

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 16, 2024: KZSU Time Traveler
Return To The Moon (Political Song For Didi Bloom To Sing, With Crescendo)
4. Jul 04, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler (rebroadcast from Mar 1, 2019)
Paul Is Alive
2. Jan 28, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Return To The Moon (Political Song For Didi Bloom To Sing, With Crescendo)
5. Sep 18, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Paul Is Alive
3. Oct 22, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Paul Is Alive
6. Feb 07, 2020: PWR Alto Power Hour
Need A Friend

Album Review
Reviewed 2016-02-22
This is the new project from The National’s Matt Berninger and Menomena’s Brent Knopf. I really love this record, wasn’t totally expecting to because I have been getting kind of bored of the National. Think of this as a much less depressing but no less angsty version of The National. These melodies are killer, the lyrics are great, you really cant go wrong when looking for a track to play from this one, I think it is a really really special record. From the band’s Facebook page: “EL VY (pronounced like “hell pie” or the plural of Elvis)” Enjoy!

Favorites: 1, 5, **6**, **7**
FCC: Track 2 (FUCK)

1. (4:13) Return to the Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloome
to Sing, with Crescendo) – Great song, awesome melody, cool lyrics, really awesome start to this record.
2. FCC fuck, dick (4:34) I'm the Man to Be – Super cool groove, mid-tempo, awesome layers, great harmonies, unfortunate you cant play it.
3. (3:31) Paul Is Alive – Down tempo, more awesome instrumentation, great synth, cool female harmonies, awesome story, one of my favorites.
4. (3:21) Need a Friend – Faster paced, great phrasing instrumentally, more great lyrics and another awesome sounding track.
5. (4:11) Silent Ivy Hotel – Mid-tempo, soulful, awesome baseline, slightly repetitive, but still one of my favorites.
6. (5:13) No Time to Crank the Sun – Absolute favorite, so great, feels sad, and urgent, and beautiful, so good.
7. (4:05) It's a Game – Another absolutely incredible track, really every single one of these songs is killer, but this one stands out also.
8. (3:43) Sleeping Light (feat. Ural Thomas) – Mid tempo, cool percussion and keyboard combos, more of the same awesome-ness.
9. (3:30) Sad Case – Mid-tempo again, another killer melody, another great one.
10. (2:02) Happiness, Missouri – Direct fade in from the last track, another steller song.
11. (3:22) Careless - Downtempo, sad, sweet, great end to the record.

Track Listing
1. Return To The Moon (Political Song For Didi Bloom To Sing, With Crescendo)   6. No Time To Crank The Sun
2. I'm The Man To Be   7. It's A Game
3. Paul Is Alive   8. Sleepin' Light (Feat. Ural Thomas)
4. Need A Friend   9. Sad Case
5. Silent Ivy Hotel   10. Happiness, Missouri
  11. Careless