Fat White Family / Songs For Our Mothers
Album:Songs For Our Mothers Collection:General
Artist:Fat White Family Added:Mar 2016
Label:Fat Possum Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2016-04-25 Pull Date:2016-06-26 
Week Ending:Jun 26Jun 12Jun 5May 29May 22May 15May 8May 1

Recent Airplay
1.Oct 15, 2021:Waste FM (rebroadcast from Dec 19, 2017)
When Shipman Decides
4.Dec 19, 2017:Waste FM
When Shipman Decides
2.Mar 20, 2018:Waste FM
When Shipman Decides
5.Apr 01, 2017:Homeroom
Whitest Boy On The Beach
3.Mar 14, 2018:deep storage
6.Jan 03, 2017:Magnetized Toner: Best Of 2016 Part 2
When Shipman Decides

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2016-04-27 
London’s Fat White Family’s second album, Songs For Our Mothers, continues the exploration with psych rock, darkwave, and ambient from a recurring minimalist approach. Also, sonically speaking it’s impossible not to pinpoint the irrefutable influence of Tones On Tail on this record. Darkly sardonic and deliberately nihilistic.

RIYL: Tones On Tail, White Fence, Derribos Arias, Einstürzende Neubauten, and Public Image Limited’s Metal Box.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 3, 4, 7, 8 and 9

1. (4:53) **Whitest Boy On The Beach – Impressive opener with late 1970’s post punk in its DNA and a hypnotic medium-up beat. Skin color pigmentation dilemmas? Cultural pride parodies? Made for this time? Yesterday’s notes?
2. (5:30) Satisfied – Post-punk ballad a la Public Image Limited.
3. (3:41) *Love Is The Crack – Evoking Tones On Tail here. Slow beat pop composition.
4. (4:19) *Duce – More Tones On Tail auras shield this slow tempo track.
5. (6:41) Lebensraum – Atmospheric, ritualistic and very industrial. Einstürzende Neubauten should feel proud.
6. (2:47) Hits Hits Hits – Sailor ballad. Salty.
7. (3:40) **Tinfoil Deathstar – 1979’s underground rock dynamics here. Hermetic groove. Slow.
8. (3:59) **When Shipman Decides – Medium tempo track. 2nd most ambitious recording on the album. It’s a winner!
9. (3:43) *We Must Learn To Rise – Hypnotic and mischievous slow beat track. Du cirque.
10. (7:11) Goodbye Goebbels – Slow and dark recording. Immerse in industrial wreckage.

Track Listing
1.Whitest Boy On The Beach 6.Hit Hits Hits
2.Satisfied 7.Tinfoil Deathstar
3.Love Is The Crack 8.When Shipman Decides
4.Duce 9.We Must Learn To Rise
5.Lebensraum 10.Goodbye Goebbels