Deerhoof / Magic, The
Album:Magic, The Collection:General
Artist:Deerhoof Added:Aug 2016
Label:Polyvinyl Record Co. 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2016-08-29 Pull Date:2016-10-31 
Week Ending:Oct 30Oct 16Oct 9Oct 2Sep 25Sep 18Sep 11Sep 4

Recent Airplay
1.Apr 15, 2023:Music Casserole
Life Is Suffering
4.Nov 01, 2016:Waste FM
The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue
2.Jul 28, 2017:special show w/ dominic
The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue
5.Oct 28, 2016:Road Trip
Learning To Apologize Effectively
3.Jul 19, 2017:day tapes #2
Plastic Thrills
6.Oct 27, 2016:All Passion No Technique
Kafe Mania!

Album Review
Reviewed 2016-08-28 
Newest release from Deerhoof, awesome record, super weird as always. It's a little bit punk, a little bit funk, a little bit rock-n-roll, and a whole lot of greatness. Deerhoof fans rejoice!!

Favorite tracks: 2, 3, 6, 12, 15....but all of them are great.

1. I3:15) The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue - Great polyrhythm, awesome transitions, very Deerhoof and very good.
2. (2:43) Kafe Mania! - Heavy guitar, heavy drums, uptempo, awesome.
3. (1:53) That Ain't No Life To Me - More punk rock, male vocals.
4. (3:36) Life Is Suffering - This sounds like more OG Deerhoof. It is obviously great.
5. (5:01) Criminals Of The Dream - Synth intro into that Deerhoof sound.
6. (2:35) Model Behavior - Love this one, super funky, "Do-re-mi-fa!"
7. (3:16) Learning To Apologize Effectively - Mid-tempo, lots of keyboard, lots of drums.
8. (2:10) Dispossessor - more male vocals, great melody.
9. (1:37) I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire - a little funky, lots of dissonance.
10. (3:01) Acceptance Speech - Uptempo, more driving melodies, a lot to like here.
11. (0:47) Patrasche Come Back - Flat guitar, more of the same.
12. (2:54) Debut - This one is great, awesome bass line.
13. (2:02) Plastic Thrills - Fuzzy guitar, driving drum beat, male vox.
14. (2:57) Little Hollywood - More of the same fuzz, male vocals.
15. (2:42) Nurse Me - This one is great too, more of the same, but one of my favorites.

Track Listing
1.The Devil And His Anarchic Surrealist Retinue 8.Dispossessor
2.Kafe Mania! 9.I Don't Want To Set The World On Fire
3.That Ain't No Life To Me 10.Acceptance Speech
4.Life Is Suffering 11.Patrasche Come Back
5.Criminals Of The Dream 12.Debut
6.Model Behavior 13.Plastic Thrills
7.Learning To Apologize Effectively 14.Little Hollywood
 15.Nurse Me