Dinosaur Jr / Give A Glimpse Of What Yer Not
Album: Give A Glimpse Of What Yer Not   Collection:General
Artist:Dinosaur Jr   Added:Aug 2016

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-09-05 Pull Date: 2016-11-07
Week Ending: Nov 6 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 25 Sep 18
Airplays: 1 3 4 2 4 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 23, 2024: down in the basement
Goin Down
4. Apr 28, 2022: Down in the Basement
I Walk For Miles
2. Apr 20, 2023: down in the basement
Goin Down
5. Nov 08, 2021: Down in the Basement (rebroadcast from Nov 4, 2021)
Goin Down
3. Feb 16, 2023: Down in the Basement
Goin Down
6. Nov 04, 2021: Down in the Basement
Goin Down

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2016-08-29
Alternative rock. Progenitors of the alt rock movement of the 90’s are still, somehow, making music. Think 90’s rock--layers of guitar, walking beats--but with guitar solos that hearken back to an earlier era. Quiet drawling voice with lyrics that don’t matter all that much, and a warm, rich sound. Echoes of Sonic Youth and earlier Dinosaur Jr. Not terribly experimental or shocking but that’s ok.

Recommended: 1, 2, 7, 10, 11. No FCCs.

1) “Goin Down” (4:03): Warm, rich sound, although the lyrics are quite agitated. “Are you with me when I’m gone?”
2) “Tiny” (3:12): Old-school guitar solo.
3) “Be a Part” (4:38): Solid beat and some interweaving guitars.
4) “I Told Everyone” (3:40): Extended fancy ending.
5) “Love Is…” (3:40): Almost more of a folk edge to this one, which is nice. Long guitar solo.
6) “Good to Know” (3:28): A little brighter and denser.
7) “I Walk for Miles” (5:35): This is pretty cool. Heavy on the low end. Fake-out of an ending around the halfway mark. Some nice passion.
8) “Lost All Day” (5:06): Feels like a walk around the neighborhood. He’s been lost all day, thinking about the ex-girlfriend.
9) “Knocked Around” (4:46): Gentler voice and a softer tone. More cymbals. Nice little injection of energy at the end.
10) “Mirror” (4:17): This is actually quite catchy. Hard pulls on the guitar.
11) “Left/Right” (3:52): Walking pace. Catchy. Lots of little stages--unexpectedly complex.

--Mr Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Goin Down   6. Good To Know
2. Tiny   7. I Walk For Miles
3. Be A Part   8. Lost All Day
4. I Told Everyone   9. Knocked Around
5. Love Is...   10. Mirror
  11. Left/Right