Gringo Star / Sides And In Between, The
Album: Sides And In Between, The   Collection:General
Artist:Gringo Star   Added:Nov 2016
Label:Nevado Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-11-16 Pull Date: 2017-01-18
Week Ending: Jan 15 Dec 25 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 20
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 12, 2017: a strange pursuit
Knee Deep
4. Dec 08, 2016: 1100866
Heading South
2. Dec 23, 2016: KZSU Time Traveler
Get Closer
5. Dec 03, 2016: Old Fart at Play
3. Dec 21, 2016: The Library
Still Alive
6. Nov 19, 2016: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Still Alive

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2016-12-03
Psych rock/psych folk. At their best, these guys have a bizarro country vibe; at their worst, kind of a punchless pop one. Lots of psychedelic accents and tropes, but the lead singer’s nasal voice has a way of cutting through the clutter. Lyrics can be forgettable, but some of the instrumental sections are neat. The whole thing has kind of a vintage aesthetic, like it was made on cassettes before I was born.

Recommended: 1, 4

1) “Rotten” (2:52): Nice movement in the guitar, and good decisive start.
2) “Magic” (3:10): “Magic / it’s magic…” It’s OK.
3) “Get Closer” (3:27): Summery song, upbeat. Guitars jangle.
4) “Still Alive” (3:00): More of a bizarro country vibe, which I think plays to their strengths. Picking around on the high end of the guitar.
5) “Going Home” (3:00): Synth and whistling touches.
6) “Knee Deep” (3:41): Growling on the low end, picking on the high end. More folky. Strings add some drama at the end.
7) “Heading South” (3:09): Voices a bit dirtier, like they’re being filtered through an old-time radio.
8) “Undone” (3:15): Emphatic whistling, and lots of plinking on the piano. Singer is particularly nasal here.
9) “It’s You” (1:48): Chorus droning in the background--sultrier.
10) “The Last Trace” (2:04): Very straightforward poppy song without too much punch.

--Mr Tumnus

Track Listing
1. Rotten   6. Knee Deep
2. Magic   7. Heading South
3. Get Closer   8. Undone
4. Still Alive   9. It's You
5. Going Home   10. The Last Trace