Hope, Peter / Wind Blown: Sonatas For Wind Instruments
Album: Wind Blown: Sonatas For Wind Instruments   Collection:Classical
Artist:Hope, Peter   Added:Nov 2016
Label:Divine Art Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-11-23 Pull Date: 2017-01-22 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Jan 22 Dec 4
Airplays: 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 29, 2019: Mixed Up Class by Solmaxion for Romain
Tallis Remembered (3:24), Iii. Giocoso (2:53), Ii. Lento (3:30), Sonata For Bassoon And Piano, Freely: I. Allegro Inquieto (5:09)
3. Dec 03, 2016: Music Casserole
Sonata For Oboe And Piano, I. Moderato (7:36)
2. Jan 20, 2017: Cardinal Importance
Sonata For Oboe And Piano, I. Moderato (7:36)

Album Review
Gary Lemco
Reviewed 2016-11-19
Peter Hope (b. 1930), a British composer, wrote his 4 woodwind sonatas between 2009 and 2015. His musical syntax is conservative and accessible. The lyrical, somewhat jazzy Sonata for Oboe (2009) celebrates the memory of Lady Barbirolli, wife of the famed conductor. Hope exploits the oboe’s special timbre in major and minor modes. The 2nd mvmt is a spirited scherzo. The Allegro last mvmt captures the honky-tonk, 1940s atmosphere of nightclubs and boogie-woogie. The Clarinet Sonata (2015) celebrates the opening of the Royal College of Music’s Carroll Walkway. The opening Moderato is leisurely, while the Vivace moves in 9/8 time. The 3rd mvmt, “The Clarinetist on the Roof,” is a parody of “Fiddler on the Roof,” and sounds like Klezmer or Jewish folk-music.
The Sonata for Recorder (2016) has an archaic sound, opening with a Fantasia with short chords from the piano before becoming more flowing, and then returning to the opening material. Threnody is an elegy for musical historian Nicholas Henshell. The last mvmt, Moto perpetuo, is a virtuoso piece in 16th notes. A brief interlude in jazz style interrupts the proceedings.
The Bassoon Sonata (2015) begins with Freely: Allegro inquieto, in a spiky rhythm followed by a more tranquil section. The opening bassoon riff returns at the mvmt’s end, leading directly into the Lento. The bassoon sings in a high register. Giocoso is a lively and animated rondo. Tallis Remembered (2013), for recorder, clarinet and piano, is a set of variations based on a canon by Renaissance composer Thomas Tallis. A Walk with my dog, Molly (2016), for recorder solo and narrator, is an elegy in five short pieces or “events” for the family pet who passed away.

Track Listing
1. Sonata For Oboe And Piano, I. Moderato (7:36)   8. Ii. Threnody (3:34)
2. Ii. Vivace (2:22)   9. Iii. Moto Perpetuo (2:42)
3. Iii. Allegro (4:17)   10. Sonata For Bassoon And Piano, Freely: I. Allegro Inquieto (5:09)
4. Sonata For Clarinet And Piano, I. Moderato (4:45)   11. Ii. Lento (3:30)
5. Ii. Vivace (4:26)   12. Iii. Giocoso (2:53)
6. Iii. Freely: Allegro - ?The Clarinetist On The Roof? (4:17)   13. Tallis Remembered (3:24)
7. Sonata For Recorder And Piano, I. Fantasia (4:25)   14. A Walk With My Dog, Molly (5:42)