Alchymie & Gregg Skloff / Kuiper Belt, The
Album: Kuiper Belt, The   Collection:General
Artist:Alchymie & Gregg Skloff   Added:Dec 2016
Label:Aerocade Music  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-01-24 Pull Date: 2017-03-28 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Mar 12 Feb 5 Jan 29
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 11, 2017: Reckless Burning
3. Jan 28, 2017: Music Casserole
2. Jan 31, 2017: The Offbeat Generation

Album Review
Reviewed 2016-12-04
Alchymie & Gregg Skloff
The Kuiper Belt
(Released by Aerocade Music)
Reviewed by BravoMarco

From the record label: “Drone-based ambient electronic music meets experimental new age film score in this recording project between keyboardist/vocalist/composer Jennifer Theuer Ruzicka (aka Alchymie) from Naples, Florida, and contrabassist/improviser Gregg Skloff from Astoria, Oregon”
A majestic deep space journey, or indeed to wherever else these wonderful sounds might take you. Again mastered by friend of KZSU Andrew Weathers. Not as foreboding perhaps as the previous release by Gregg Skloff (‘The Glacial Enclosure’ one of the best releases of the year) making these tracks ideal playing for shows at any time.

Like: Mohammed, Christina Vantzou, Azam Ali with a touch of Coil / DiJ / Clair Obscur
Every track is just great: Loving 1,4,5
No FCC’s (Instrumentals)

1) Pluto (5.39) A desolate windswept piece, full of emotion.
2)Varuna (5.24) Moody & ominous with lighter moments of almost droney spacey flamenco.
3)Eris (5.11) Repetitive & more upbeat – This is where the journey gets going.
4)Sedna (8.58) An uneasy breathiness whirls in & out of this deepest of black holes.
5)Altjira (9.16) Similar to a post punk intro from 82’ish, without the tribal beats ever kicking in. Ethereal voices accompany the waves of droney delight.
6)Salacia (6.21) Up-tempo funky industrial approach. Has that early 400 Blows feel to it.
7)Praamzius (8.45) Samples combining so well with the relentless grind at first, then takes a further step into the outer reaches. It’s spacey all right. A lovely, delicate conclusion.

Track Listing
1. Pluto   4. Sedna
2. Varuna   5. Altjira
3. Eris   6. Salacia
  7. Praamzius