Various Artists / Killed By Deathrock Volume Two
Album: Killed By Deathrock Volume Two   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Dec 2016
Label:Sacred Bones Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-12-21 Pull Date: 2017-02-22
Week Ending: Feb 19 Feb 12 Feb 5 Jan 29 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 4 1 4 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 14, 2022: satin fever - lovesick edition (rebroadcast from Feb 14, 2017)
The Freedom Curse
4. Feb 02, 2017: a strange pursuit
2. Feb 14, 2017: satin fever - lovesick edition
The Freedom Curse
5. Jan 31, 2017: satin fever
Promised Land
3. Feb 07, 2017: Magnetized Toner
The Freedom Curse, Spectator
6. Jan 24, 2017: Magnetized Toner

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2016-12-21
Killed By Deathrock Volume Two is another absorbing collection of obscure international and domestic 1980s goth, dark punk, and death rock bands compiled by the people behind the Sacred Bones Records label.

From the press release, “The thread that holds these groups together as deathrock bands comes down to their willingness and sometimes compulsion to reveal and explore the darker side of their psyches. Night-soaked dirges of fatality, despair, and horror were rampant, rooted in that sublimity that is found on the edge of the horror genre, as famously developed by Edgar Allan Poe — an edge that relished in misery and openly recognized the inevitable end of any human life”.

RIYL: Rhino’s Postpunk Chronicles series, Soul Jazz Records’ anthologies Punk 45, Munster Records’ Sombras: Spanish Post-Punk & Dark Pop (1981-1986), and Projekt Records compilations.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10

1. (1:51) **Spectator by Gatecrashers – Intense opener. Fast tempo. Think Spizzenergi’s Where’s Captain Kirk? meets Alaska & Los Pegamoides’ Horror En El Hipermercado. Killer synth riff. From Denmark. Originally released in 1980.
2. (4:18) A Skeleton At The Feast by Middle Class – Medium-up tempo. Bauhaus meets Christian Death. Classic goth sound. Flores para los muertos. From United States (Santa Ana). Originally released in 1982.
3. (3:57) *Waiting For The War by ADS – Dark punk a la Killing Joke. Some guitar riff. Simple but effective. From Denmark. Originally released in 1982.
4. (4:10) **Whiplash by Veda –Killer guitar riff on this early classic modern rock cut. Think Beggars Banquet circa 1984-86. A less campy Gene Loves Jezebel. From England. Originally released in 1987.
5. (4:50) **Promised Land by Skeletal Family – Fast tempo post-punker with intense guitar work and fashionable female vocals. Danceable. From England. Originally released in 1985.
6. (5:46) The Freedom Curse by Flowers For Agatha – Medium-up tempo. Guitar driven. Nostalgic. Reminds me of The Psychedelic Furs. From England. Originally released in 1985.
7. (4:18) *Dark Spirits by Red Temple Spirits – Upbeat dark punker. Nice melody. Dramatic. From United States (Los Angeles). Originally released in 1988.
8. (5:07) **What's Wrong Yvette by Crank Call Love Affair – Disco punk with amazing synth riff and solo. Great vocals. One of the gems of the album. From United States (Denver). Originally released in 1982.
9. (2:51) *I Can't Live In A Living Room by Red Zebra – Fast post-punker. Sick continuous guitar riff. Quite crude but effective. From Belgium. Originally released in 1980.
10. (3:05) **Hade by Vita Noctis – From Belgium. Originally released in 1985. Synthesizers, drum machine and female vocalist. Impressive minimal synth pop. Another recommended track.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Gatecrashers Spectator
2. Middle Class A Skeleton At The Feast
3. Ads Waiting For The War
4. Veda Whiplash
5. Skeletal Family Promised Land
6. Flowers For Agatha The Freedom Curse
7. Red Temple Spirits Dark Spirits
8. Crank Call Love Affair What's Wrong Yvette
9. Red Zebra I Can't Live In A Living Room
10. Vita Noctis Hade