Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Goat / Requiem
Album:Requiem Collection:General
Artist:Goat Added:12/2016
Label:Sub Pop Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2016-12-29 Pull Date:2017-03-02 
Week Ending:5 Mar19 Feb12 Feb5 Feb29 Jan22 Jan8 Jan

 Recent Airplay
1.Jan 13, 2022:Reckless Burning (rebroadcast from Feb 18, 2017)
4.Feb 18, 2017:Reckless Burning
2.Jan 13, 2021:Some Songs Without Words
5.Feb 08, 2017:Brownian Motion
3.Mar 01, 2017:Brownian Motion
6.Feb 01, 2017:Brownian Motion

Album Review
Reviewed 2016-12-26 
– General Description: Okay if you’re not really listening but want to get into some sort of groove with uncomplicated music. If the intent is to sound like they’re stoned the entire time, they’ve succeeded. They hold onto motives and just won’t let go, whether it’s because they have no place to go is the question. But the songs are short enough and mostly harmless.
– FCC Compliant: YES
– Recommended Tracks: 11, 12
– Track Reviews:
1. (4:18) Union of Sun and Moon - NO SOUND until 0:06 sec, barely audible bird sounds until 0:16, quiet unison singing until 1:22; some talking over repetitive rhythm guitar and recorders
2. (4:14) I Sing In Silence - quiet opening until 0:13; acoustic guitar with some interesting percussion instruments; unison singing, simple melody with repetitive electric guitar, a few riffs above
3. (4:18) Temple Rythms - animated drumming with various flutes above; simple and repetitive
4. (2:54) Alarms - moderate tempo; boy/girl call-and-response; very 1960’s harmonies; percussion choices are amusing
5. (4:20) Trouble in the Streets - upbeat; unison “scringing” (singing verging on screaming) while attempting to sound “islandy”
6. (3:56) Psychedelic Lover - “calling to the mosque” singing, then repetitive rhythm guitar above with some singular guitar lines and more unison scringing (some off-key)
7. (7:50) Goatband - medium-fast; simple melody with repetitive electric guitar, a few riffs above and some noise
8. (3:30) Try My Robe - spirited percussion with laid-back sliding tones above; more unison scringing with clapping this time
9. (3:20) Its Not Me - unison scringing with a distant sound; rolling xylophone underneath with more rhythm guitar; sitar-like atmosphere
10. (2:42) All-seeing Eye - congo beating with simple motive above; sliding guitar with declarative chords
11. **(6:56) Goatfuzz - sounds like a TV theme; unison scringing; more 1960’s influence
12. **(7:54) Goodbye - delicate guitar/sitar over droning rhythm guitar; bass eventually kicks in
13. (7:07) Ubuntu - high sparkly tones; more lofty fuzzy talking; late-night material for radio

Track Listing
1.Union Of Sun And Moon 7.Goatband
2.I Sing In Silence 8.Try My Robe
3.Temple Rhythms 9.It's Not Me
4.Alarms 10.Goatfuzz
5.Trouble In The Streets 11.Goodbye
6.Psychedelic Lover 12.Ubuntu