Kalispell / Printer's Son
Album: Printer's Son   Collection:General
Artist:Kalispell   Added:Jan 2017
Label:Cartouche Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-01-24 Pull Date: 2017-03-28
Week Ending: Mar 26 Mar 19 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 26 Feb 19 Feb 12 Feb 5
Airplays: 3 2 2 2 1 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 24, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
4. Mar 21, 2017: Music Casserole
2. Mar 24, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
5. Mar 17, 2017: Road Trip
Printer's Son
3. Mar 23, 2017: Totally A
Gary, In
6. Mar 17, 2017: KZSU Time Traveler
Parting Ground, Gary, In

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2017-01-21
“Printer’s Son” Kalispell
Kalispell is the folk project of Wisconsin-based singer-songwriter, Shane Leonard. The music is folk-Americana, ranging from traditional (though far from standard) folk to bluegrass. Leonard is a gifted multi-instrumentalist who plays banjo, fiddle, keyboards, and all kinds of percussion instruments, in addition to singing. He has performed with Field Report, Stray Birds, and many other groups. This is his second full-length album, and it was produced by Brian Joseph (Bon Iver).
— Francis

Recommended: 6, 2, 7, 3. No FCCs detected.

1. (3:19) In Chicago – INSTRUMENTAL—Very slow fade in from ambient street noises into sustained drone. Musical layers are added including woodwinds, bells and guitar.
2. (4:29) Windfall – Melodic folk-rock. Intricate interplay between bass and drums. Rich, tenor vocals backed by piano and acoustic guitar. ***
3. (5:39) Beautiful Doll – Long bluegrass intro (nearly 2 minutes). Rapid, fingerpicked banjo — almost clocklike. Gentle harmonized male and female vocals featuring Heather McIntire. Cello solo by Ben Sollee in lead break. ***
4. (3:19) Hand – Somewhat jazzy or experimental guitar — starting spare, then backed by lush synth strings, with accordion in lead break.
5. (1:37) Frankly – INSTRUMENTAL—Bluegrass banjo, expertly played. Layered with guitar, fiddle and a busy, chattering rhythm track.
6. (4:35) Gary, In – Melancholy start, supported by timekeeping bass. Builds into a beautiful, rolling epic with piano, synth strings and more. Reminiscent of Gordon Lightfoot’s best. ****
7. (4:28) Parting Ground – Wistful and rambling, with strummed and picked banjo, synth, strings, and the occasional cry of a pedal steel guitar. ***
8. (3:43) Printer’s Son – More upbeat, with a skipping rhythm. Wry and wise. Many layers of music added to create a bigger finishing track.

Track Listing
1. In Chicago   5. Frankly
2. Windfall   6. Gary, In
3. Beautiful Doll   7. Parting Ground
4. Hand   8. Printer's Son