Tinariwen / Elwan
Album:Elwan Collection:World
Artist:Tinariwen Added:Feb 2017
Label:Anti- / Epitaph 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-02-22 Pull Date:2017-04-26 Charts:Reggae/World
Week Ending:Apr 30Apr 23Apr 16Apr 9Apr 2Mar 26Mar 19Mar 12

Recent Airplay
1.Apr 20, 2022:At the Cafe Bohemian (rebroadcast from Mar 1, 2017)
4.Apr 26, 2017:At the Cafe Bohemian
2.Feb 18, 2022:At the Cafe Bohemian (rebroadcast from Mar 1, 2017)
5.Apr 25, 2017:Magnetized Toner (R2)
3.Dec 15, 2021:At the Cafe Bohemian (rebroadcast from Apr 5, 2017)
6.Apr 22, 2017:Music Casserole

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2017-02-20 
Eighth album from these Malian desert blues legends. This time they’re joined by a number of Western musicians including Kurt Vile. Due to the dangerous situation in northern Mali, Tinariwen split recording this between Paris, Joshua Tree, and southern Morocco. The lyrics continue to focus on the future of the Tuareg people, who have gone through tremendous political conflict lately. It makes for a world-weary, beautiful, and deeply meaningful record. Already one of my favorites of 2017.

1. (3:44) *** Tiwàyyen—Mid-tempo, loping, with a bassy undercurrent.
2. (3:25) *** Sastanàqqàm—Amazing groove. Multiple voices and pulsing bass.
3. (3:40) ** Nizzagh Ijbal—Relaxed, subdued, with some flavorful drumming.
4. (3:23) Hayati—Lively, funky, vocal-driven.
5. (3:46) Ittus—Melancholy. Clear vocals and riffs.
6. (4:26) ** Ténéré Tàqqàl—Trance-like vocals/guitars and syncopation. “Many have died battling for twisted ends / And joy has abandoned us, exhausted by all this duplicity.”
7. (3:33) *** Imidiwàn n-àkall-in—Plodding, meditative, gorgeous.
8. (4:14) ** Talyat—Urgent. Acoustic guitars and rolling drums.
9. (3:40) Assàwt—Rollicking, never stops. A call for the freedom of the Tuareg women.
10. (2:48) *** Arhegh ad annàgh—Slow, patient, tired. Clear guitars and vocals.
11. (5:03) **** Nànnuflày—Distant, melancholy. Words in English midway. “I’m through sleepwalking.”
12. (1:27) Fog Edaghàn (Intro Flute)—Soft, straining flute and extremely hushed guitar.
13. (3:05) *** Fog Edaghàn—Slow-burning, driven by the bass.

Track Listing
1.Tiwàyyen 7.Imidiwàn N-Àkall-In
2.Satanàqqàm 8.Talyat
3.Nizzagh Ijbal 9.Assàwt
4.Hayati 10.Arhegh Ad Annàgh
5.Ittus 11.Nànnuflày
6.Ténéré Tàqqàl 12.Fog Edaghàn (Intro Flute)
 13.Fog Edaghàn