Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Sfjazz Collective / Music Of Miles Davis & Original Compositions: Live @ Sfjazz Center 2016
Album:Music Of Miles Davis & Original Compositions: Live @ Sfjazz Center 2016 Collection:Jazz
Artist:Sfjazz Collective Added:Apr 2017

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-04-12 Pull Date:2017-06-14 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Jun 11Jun 4May 28May 21May 7Apr 30Apr 23Apr 16

 Recent Airplay
1.Jun 09, 2017:Rebop
Shields Green
4.Jun 02, 2017:Rebop
2.Jun 08, 2017:Goggles Optional
Joshua, Bitches Brew
5.Jun 01, 2017:Moonlight Impressions
3.Jun 03, 2017:Music Casserole
6.Jun 01, 2017:No Cover, No Minimum

Album Review
Reviewed 2017-04-01 
Music Of Miles Davis & Original Compositions: Live @ SFJAZZ Center 2016

MODERN JAZZ – The SFJAZZ Collective is an all-star octet with an evolving lineup that assembles annually to explore the music of one jazz master, and also to workshop contributions from the band. 2016 marked the Collective’s 13th season. The quality of their output remains as high as ever, with tricky rhythmic riffs, tight ensemble arrangements, and sparkling solos from all eight musicians.

Disc 1 features strikingly fresh versions of 8 classic Miles Davis tunes. Disc 2 is original works. Recorded live in San Francisco, October 2016.

All good!
Fo’s Picks: Disc I – 2, 5, 7 Disc II – 1, 2, 4, 6, 7


1. 6:16 – fanfare tease, slow intro » bustling uptempo; trombone & piano solo
2. 6:20 – fast Balkan-style horns bookend a rapid romp; sax/vibes trade off
3. 7:56 – loping midtempo groove only references original; strong sax & vibes
4. 7:27 – striding, insistent midtempo: Miles-ish trumpet solo in 2nd half
5. 10:50 – sparse, spacey intro: electric sound thickens under lots of trumpet, busy drums; bass solo after midpoint, wild ensemble, back to space
6. 9:38 – uneasy cool-toned swing vs 5/4 passages; deft piano/trumpet solos
7. 8:27 – breezy uptempo: vibes, piano & sax solos skate over slippery drums
8. 8:16 – uptempo clockwork groove; mysterious in middle, layered ending


1. 7:59 – calm start into lopsided chugging groove, sax solo, falls back gently
2. 9:46 – quietly spacious Afro-Caribbean feel, extended sax solo drifts lazily
3. 8:03 – quietly hopping horns, then bass solo; upbeat drive in 2nd half
4. 9:00 – upbeat clusters of 3 & 5, condenses & expands, trumpet/drums star
5. 10:15 – slow jam, soulful and sultry: vibes solo has lots of working space
6. 9:00 – relaxed fusion groove: trombone stroll; conversation for horns/vibes
7. 10:12 – beautiful, vibes-led ballad for the late Bobby Hutcherson (a founding member of the Collective); slow and gentle but uplifting
8. 9:30 – relaxed, layered groove: serious sax, piano spins, drums take it out

Sean Jones - trumpet
Miguel Zenón - alto sax
David Sánchez - tenor sax
Robin Eubanks - trombone
Warren Wolf - vibes/marimba
Edward Simon - piano
Matt Penman - bass
Obed Calvaire - drums

[ Fo ] - 1 April 2017

Track Listing
1.So What 9.Tribe
2.Nardis 10.Canto
3.Milestones 11.Your Turn
4.Tutu 12.111
5.Bitches Brew 13.In The Heat Of The Night
6.All Blues 14.Shields Green
7.Joshua 15.Hutcherson Hug
8.Teo 16.Feel The Groove