Kuroma / Dark Horse Rides Again, The
Album: Dark Horse Rides Again, The   Collection:General
Artist:Kuroma   Added:Jun 2017

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-06-21 Pull Date: 2017-08-23
Week Ending: Aug 20 Aug 6 Jul 30 Jul 23 Jul 16 Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25
Airplays: 2 1 2 1 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 19, 2017: Old Fart at Play
A Day With No Disaster
4. Jul 27, 2017: Totally A
In A California Way
2. Aug 17, 2017: Totally A
In A California Way
5. Jul 25, 2017: Waste FM
I Want The Kingdom
3. Aug 03, 2017: Totally A
In A California Way
6. Jul 20, 2017: Totally A
In A California Way

Album Review
Slow Proteo
Reviewed 2017-06-18
Kuroma // The Dark Horse Rides Again

Album is defined by reverb-processed vocals, guitar awash in chorus, and an occasional sunny feel. Could be a tighter album if it was a bit shorter. Frontman Hank Sullivant - formerly of The Whigs and touring guitarist for MGMT – has a distinctive croon and some moments of interesting songwriting, especially on the first track. Sounds like if King Tuff took a xanax.

1) A Day with No Disaster** (3:13): Reverbed guitar and guitar chords fill the space, catchy little song with interesting vocal timbre and harmonies.
2) A Curse of Mine (3:57): Staccato chords with arpeggiated vocal FX. Some interesting sounds but overall repetitive and unengaging.
3) Lucky Man (4:16): Wah guitar and a sort of love-sick vibe here.
4) I’m the Kind* (4:07): Finally some distortion! Interesting instrumentation especially in the interludes and outro.
5) Perfect Girl* (4:02): A little cutesy moldy peaches kind of song here – fun track with some strings and fun vocals.
6) Uprising (2:37): Repetitive vocals over some choppy synth chords.
7) I Don’t Know What I Should Do (3:23): Sleepy song with slow chorus-heavy guitar chords
8) In a California Way** (3:10): A bit more upbeat and sunny here – “In a California way, here today, gone tomorrow” – vocals in a sort of King Tuff king of style.
9) The Sun is Too High (3:48): Another beachy feeling here, but not as engaging as track 8.
10) I Want the Kingdom (5:02): Organ chords open the song, joined later by crunchy guitars and the usual reverbed distant vocals. Mix is pleasantly full here. The song drags somewhat.
11) Tennessee Walker (2:30): Bouncy tune with guitar arpeggios and somewhat frantic vox.
12) The Island in Me (5:19): Phased guitars and vocal harmonies straight out of a Pink Floyd song.

Slow Proteo

Track Listing
1. A Day With No Disaster   7. I Don't Know What I Should Do
2. A Curse Of Mine   8. In A California Way
3. Lucky Man   9. The Sun Is Too High
4. I'm The Kind   10. I Want The Kingdom
5. Perfect Girl   11. Tennessee Walker
6. Uprising   12. The Island In Me