Erskine, Peter New Trio / In Praise Of Shadows
Album:In Praise Of Shadows Collection:Jazz
Artist:Erskine, Peter New Trio Added:Jun 2017
Label:Pep Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-07-05 Pull Date:2017-09-05 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Sep 3Aug 27Aug 20Aug 13Jul 16

Recent Airplay
1.Sep 01, 2017:Rebop
Each Breath
4.Aug 18, 2017:Rebop
Sukiyaki ("Ue Wo Muite Arko")
2.Aug 25, 2017:Rebop
5.Aug 11, 2017:Rebop
Each Breath
3.Aug 24, 2017:No Cover, No Minimum
6.Aug 10, 2017:No Cover, No Minimum

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2017-06-28 
Reviewed: 2017-06-28
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none

Review: Erskine was one of the percussionists for Weather Report, led trios on ECM, and has performed with a wide range of other musicians. Here he presents a 21st century jazz-everything fusion, complex yet accessible, with world music accents.
If You Like: Geri Allen, Brad Mehldau, Herbie Hancock
Favorite Tracks: (1) Sukiyaki (3) Each Breath (4) Labyrinth (7) Begin Within (9) Smile
1/ piano starts with guest whistle> slow tempo> quick stop (4:50) 2/ drums start> uptempo fusion> piano solo> quick stop (4:17) 3/ drums start> slow tempo with guest cello> fade (6:33) 4/ bass starts. midtempo> drum solo> quick stop (6:14) 5/ piano starts> slow tempo> quick stop (3:33) 6/ piano starts> midtempo> quick stop (5:21) 7/ piano starts> midtempo> lovely piano solo> slow fade (4:34) 8/ piano starts> midtempo> slow fade (4:43) 9/ synth starts> slow tempo with marimba> slow fade (5:12) 10/ piano starts> midtempo> electric piano solo> quick stop (5:43)

Track Listing
1.Sukiyaki ("Ue Wo Muite Arko") 6.Silouette Shadows
2.What If 7.Begin Within
3.Each Breath 8.Distant Blue
4.Labyrinth 9.Smile
5.Marcheta ("A Love Song Of Old Mexico") 10.All That Remains