Craig, Ian William / Slow Vessels
Album: Slow Vessels   Collection:General
Artist:Craig, Ian William   Added:Jul 2017
Label:Fatcat Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-07-12 Pull Date: 2017-09-12 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Sep 3 Aug 20 Aug 13 Aug 6 Jul 23 Jul 16
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 02, 2017: Narnia
A Single Hope
4. Aug 05, 2017: Narnia
Contain, Purpose (Is No Country)
2. Aug 19, 2017: Narnia
Purpose (Is No Country), A Single Hope
5. Jul 22, 2017: Narnia
Contain, Purpose (Is No Country)
3. Aug 12, 2017: Narnia
Contain, Purpose (Is No Country)
6. Jul 22, 2017: Music Casserole

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2017-07-10
Pared down, lo-fi renditions of six songs from classical vocalist and tape experimentalist Craig’s epic 2016 album Centres, featuring acoustic guitar, piano, and Craig’s angelic tenor voice. Extremely minimal, deeply solitary stuff—you can feel the empty space, the dust and cobwebs of the tape hiss. Desolate, exquisite, dramatic, graceful, and palpably romantic. This mini-album is a treasure. I might prefer these versions over the originals. No FCCs detected. Favorites: 1, 3, 4, 5.

1. *(4:00)—Grainy acoustic guitar strumming. Minimal keyboard pulses. Overflowing tenderness.
2. (5:53)—Slow, woozy piano. Fades into staticky arctic drone.
3. *(6:06)—Extremely slow, each guitar note and syllable held almost to the length of a drone. Craig ventures way up into his falsetto range for long stretches.
4. *(2:43)—Mid-tempo, the closest thing to a conventional folk song. If you like Sibylle Baier or Angel Olsen, you’ll swoon over this.
5. *(8:02)—Slow piano chords buried under static. Sounds like R&B from the end of the world.
6. (4:04)—Relatively clean sound at the beginning. Minimal guitar. Turns into a frosty soundscape in the second half.

Track Listing
1. Arrive, Arrive   4. Purpose (Is No Country)
2. The Nearness   5. Contain
3. A Single Hope   6. Set To Lapse