Overman, Will / Crossroads
Album: Crossroads   Collection:Country
Artist:Overman, Will   Added:Dec 2017

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-12-20 Pull Date: 2018-02-21 Charts: Country/Bluegrass
Week Ending: Feb 11 Feb 4 Jan 28 Jan 21 Jan 14 Jan 7 Dec 31
Airplays: 1 2 1 1 2 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 09, 2018: Traditions
4. Jan 26, 2018: Traditions
2. Feb 02, 2018: Traditions
5. Jan 20, 2018: Clean Copper Radio
Marriage Museum, Supernova
3. Feb 01, 2018: Totally A
6. Jan 12, 2018: Traditions
Decatur, You Are Your Own

Album Review
DJ McGriddle
Reviewed 2017-12-17
Will Overman of Charlottesville, VA, probably has one of the best voices in folk. He's released "Crossroads" as his solo debut. Will is feeling out the various niches of the folk genre, and I think this is an album of growing pains. He proves that he can play the parts (#3 "Supernova"). However, the shining through of his honest, original lyricism and songwriting in #5, "Decatur", makes it a contender for the best song I've heard in 2017.

1. (4:56) ** INDIE FOLK. Spacious, slow, and introspective.

2. (3:18) ***** INDIE ROCK. Soft-drummed with mellifluous slide guitar and keys. Beautiful description of family despair.

3. (2:52) *** POP ROCK. Catchy. Driving rock beat highlighted by slide guitar and Will's impressively competent voice.

4. (4:01) **** SLOW WALTZ. Ben Harper? Soft drums, a touch of organ, and a cello appearance.

5. (3:31) ***** This is one of my favorite songs. Period. A chorus of cello, keys, and guitar. The lyrics here are profoundly impressive: "An OPEN sign, a closed blind, neon flashin' "Miller Time". Looks like Sally's here -- I can tell by the car. An '87 Chevy with two spare tires, the front bumper missing from a strong backfire...". You'll memorize the lyrics. I did. Breakdown toward the end is the icing on the cake.

Track Listing
1. Crossroads   3. Supernova
2. Marriage Museum   4. You Are Your Own
  5. Decatur