Stronen, Thomas & Time Is A Blind Guide / Lucus
Album:Lucus Collection:Jazz
Artist:Stronen, Thomas & Time Is A Blind Guide Added:Feb 2018
Label:Ecm Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2018-02-23 Pull Date:2018-04-27 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Apr 22Apr 8Mar 11Mar 4

Recent Airplay
1.Jun 29, 2021:Old Fart at Play (rebroadcast from Jun 15, 2018)
4.Apr 28, 2018:Old Fart at Play
Truth Grows Gradually
2.Jun 16, 2018:Old Fart at Play
5.Apr 28, 2018:Music Casserole
Fugitive Places
3.Jun 15, 2018:Old Fart at Play
6.Apr 20, 2018:Old Fart at Play

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2018-02-10 
Reviewed: 2018-02-10
Genre: Jazz
FCCS: none
Review: Drummer Stronen leads a gorgeous outing, with his quintet wonderfully incorporating stringed instruments into the improvisations, and the results are radiant.
If You Like: Paul Motion, Danny Gottlieb, Kronos Quartet, Anja Lechner, David Darling
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
*1/ La Bella (4:26) – violincello starts> midtempo jam> slow fade
*2/ Friday (4:08) – violincello starts> slow jam swings to midtempo & soars into the universe> fade
3/ Release (5:48) – violincello starts> slow jam with interesting counterpoint> space jam> plucked bass solo> slow fade
*4/ Lucus (3:49) – piano starts> midtempo jam> slow fade
5/ Fugitive Places (7:17) – violincello starts> slow jam> slow fade
6/ Baka (2:09) – piano starts> slow & plodding, joined by strings> slow jam> slow fade
*7/ Wednesday (5:12) – drums start, loud & dramatic> heavy chords like a march> false stop> melody shift to midtempo Jam with percussive vibe> slides into beautiful melody lead by violin> percussive jam> fade
*8/ Tension (6:33) – bass starts> slow jam with repetitive riff slides into beautiful melody> piano solo>midtempo jam> fade
*9/ Truth Grows Gradually (4:30) – violincello starts> midtempo jam> violincello solo> piano solo> quick stop
*10/ Islay (4:04) – drums start> midtempo jam with percussive vibe> slow fade
*11/ Weekend (4:47) – violincello starts> slow beautiful melody segues into percussive midtempo jam> quick stop

Track Listing
1.La Bella 6.Baka
2.Friday 7.Wednesday
3.Release 8.Tension
4.Lucus 9.Truth Grows Gradually
5.Fugitive Places 10.Islay