Ada / Ada
Album: Ada   Collection:General
Artist:Ada   Added:Sep 2018

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-09-09 Pull Date: 2018-11-11
Week Ending: Nov 11 Nov 4 Sep 23 Sep 16
Airplays: 1 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 11, 2021: Stranded at Settembrini's (rebroadcast from Oct 28, 2021)
Screen Door
4. Nov 03, 2018: Music Casserole
Screen Door
2. Oct 28, 2021: Stranded at Settembrini's
Screen Door
5. Sep 19, 2018: Brownian Motion
A Gate
3. Nov 04, 2018: Radiant Airwaves
Some Other City
6. Sep 17, 2018: Everything A to Z Week 148
Shoveling, A Gate, Screen Door, Steps

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-09-10
Droning, dark, wintry post-rock from Portland, Maine. Evokes dark clouds overhead, days without sleeping, fighting back hopelessness, rushes of latent grace. Recorded with Efrim Menuck (Godspeed You! Black Emperor, A Silver Mt. Zion). I definitely hear Silver Mt. Zion’s anarchist, rough-edged gloom in there, as well as the eerie, woozy alt-country of Souled American’s last two albums. Good for melancholy. Also RIYL late Talk Talk, Black Heart Procession, Andrew Weathers. Favorites: 2, 7, 8. FCC WARNING: 4, 5.

1. (1:48)—Background hauntology. Fades into next track.
2. *(7:04)—Warped, moody drone intro. Gorgeous funereal singing. Like a strange torch song. Stumbles drunkenly toward rock ’n’ roll in its last few minutes.
3. (1:54)—Soft piano, free drumming. Pretty. Fades into next track.
4. (8:19)—FCC (f***). Drone-folk intro, grand singing. Halting, jazzy rhythm. Middle feels like a cross between ‘90s post-rock and an alt-country rave-up.
5. (9:51)—FCC (s***). Deep mid-tempo crawl. Rocks out, with fiddling. Kinda early Modest Mouse?
6. (3:25)—Instrumental. High violin keening, cymbal taps, soft feedback.
7. *(15:55)—Very slow waltz. Nearly whispered vocals. Deep, thick, always on the verge of stopping. Reminds me a lot of Bluetile Lounge. Lumbers toward a dark, loud burst of energy before slipping into the depths.
8. *(4:43)—Slow, blurry and buzzy guitar. Waiting for the bus. Moving toward blocky noise. Reminds me of the Supreme Dicks.

Track Listing
1. Steps   5. All Your Awful Songs
2. Screen Door   6. Window
3. A Gate   7. Blue
4. Shoveling   8. Some Other City