Chairman Dances, The / Child Of My Sorrow
Album: Child Of My Sorrow   Collection:General
Artist:Chairman Dances, The   Added:Sep 2018
Label:Black Rd. Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-09-23 Pull Date: 2018-11-25
Week Ending: Nov 18 Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14 Oct 7 Sep 30
Airplays: 2 2 3 2 4 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 11, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler (Top 38 of 2018)
4. Nov 30, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
2. Dec 07, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler
No Compass, No Map
5. Nov 17, 2018: Music Casserole
Child Of My Sorrow
3. Dec 04, 2018: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Child Of My Sorrow
6. Nov 16, 2018: KZSU Time Traveler

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2018-09-11
“Child Of My Sorrow” The Chairman Dances
The latest from one of my favorite bands. Intelligent, complex and lyric-driven indie pop-rock. Often sad, and even a bit strange at times — but with a compelling sense of irony or discovery. Pop-rock for people who like more depth than simple love songs. The Chairman Dances was simply a Philly club band until their 2016 record “Time Without Measure” put them on the map. “Child Of My Sorrow” represents a major step forward for lead singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist, Eric Krewson, his bandmates and talented guest artists. Highly recommended!
— Francis D.

Recommended: 4, 2, 1, 7, 9, 3, 11, 10. No FCCs noted.

1. (3:36) Acme Parking Garage — Atmospheric start. Then, it becomes a driving rock song with alternating passages that play off one another — building to a big, clashy finish. ***
2. (3:33) Mascot — Wry storytelling pop-rock — Eric Krewson at his most intriguing. Old-timey, almost romantic flavor. Swirling melodic synths and organ and syncopated rhythms. Tongue-in-cheek, dramatic vocals. ****
3. (4:01) Iridescent — Pulsing, stop ‘n’ go rhythm with synth bass, snare, organ, and a dash of jangly guitars. Sparkling keys. Rich, backing vocals with female harmonies. ***
4. (5:08) No Compass, No Map — Melodic, mid-tempo, piano-driven ballad. Skipping rhythm. Brass in lead break. Builds to anthemic finish. ****
5. (1:12) A Half-Mile From Allentown (Introduction) — Short, jangly intro to #6. Harmonized vocals, but no words. Bright, chimey piano.
6. (5:27) A Half-Mile From Allentown — Lilting baroque pop-rock. Swelling keyboards. Some clashy elements in the lead break with rolling drums, saxophone and vibraphone.
7. (3:43) No One Can Hurt You (Like A Friend Can Hurt You) — Piano ballad with a bit of jangly guitar. Synth. Glockenspiel. Shakers. Female harmonies blending with Krewson’s rich lead vocals. Trumpet in lead break. ***
8. (4:04) Hannah, I Know It Wasn’t Always Easy — Flowing, shimmering baroque pop-rock. Wistful vocals. Rich harmonies.
9. (4:17) Out Of The Lion’s Den, Into The Lion’s Maw — Piano and guitar in a cinematic tune. Swelling synth strings, mellotron and organ. Tumbling drums and big vocals add to the drama. ***
10. (4:12) First To Leave — Guitar folk-pop with piano and wonderful lap steel guitar played by Mike “Slo-Mo” Brenner from Magnolia Electric Company. **
11. (3:50) Child Of My Sorrow — Gospel-like song. Warm and reassuring — with plinking and melodic piano, organ, and other keys. Great male/female lead vocals. ***

Track Listing
1. Acme Parking Garage   6. A Half-Mile From Allentown
2. Mascot   7. No One Can Hurt You (Like A Friend Can Hurt You)
3. Iridescent   8. Hannah, I Know It Wasn't Always Easy
4. No Compass, No Map   9. Out Of The Lion's Den, Into The Lion's Maw
5. A Half-Mile From Allentown (Introduction)   10. First To Leave
  11. Child Of My Sorrow