Lavatone / Lavatone
Album: Lavatone   Collection:General
Artist:Lavatone   Added:Oct 2018
Label:Full Spectrum  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-10-24 Pull Date: 2018-12-26 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Dec 16 Nov 25
Airplays: 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 30, 2018: On The Warpath
4. Dec 28, 2018: Rivulets
Side A & B
2. Dec 30, 2018: ad hoc variety show
Stainless Steel
5. Dec 15, 2018: Music Casserole
3. Dec 29, 2018: Music Casserole
Aaron's Cave
6. Dec 14, 2018: old fart At Play
Aaron's Cave

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-10-24
Spooky desert psych soundscapes from Amarillo, Texas. Originally self-released in the nineties, now reissued by Andrew Weathers’s Full Spectrum label. It’s fried and lo-fi, experimental in more of a “this is messing with my head” way than an academic way, but also not aggressively intense. From Hayden Pedigo’s liner notes: “like warped New Age music after a complete nuclear war.” A precursor to the deep end of ~2010 lo-fi psych tapes, when KZSU had a cassette blog ( RIYL the last episode of Twin Peaks: The Return, bent VHS dubs, stuff former KZSU DJs Brick or HYPRK would play, Not Not Fun, Sun Araw or early James Ferraro or Julian Lynch. Favorites: 2, 4, 5, 7. Mostly no words, no FCCs detected.

1. (1:33)—Wobbly tape. Deep, distant drums.
2. *(6:37)—Slow drums, soft cymbal. Deep, tape-warped tones from a guitar. It’s a rock setup but doesn’t sound like it at all. Turns into fuzzed out bathwater psych.
3. (6:01)—Deep plodding drumbeat. Clanking sounds. Like someone moving a big cart across a dusty farm.
4. *(4:54)—Tone-warped bells. Voice! Shells or grains filtered through hands.
5. *(5:08)—Mid-tempo hand drums, scratching noise, thick low end. Has kind of a destroyed sci-fi dub feel.
6. (3:40)—Really gets going halfway in. Simply steel drum-like loop. Reversed tape.
7. *(3:36)—Loud bells and drums. Surprisingly heavy for a bit. Feels more recognizable as plodding psych rock. Pink Floyd at Pompeii, with the big gong.
8. (8:08)—Mouth harp. Slow polyrhythms, like some ritual cowboy caravan.

Track Listing
1. Sunday Morn'   5. Stainless Steel
2. Terrafish   6. Overblue
3. Swallowing Air   7. Innerds
4. Potboy And Sourpuss   8. Aaron's Cave