Revert, Matthew / Letters To Friends Of The Late Darcy O?Meara
Album: Letters To Friends Of The Late Darcy O?Meara   Collection:General
Artist:Revert, Matthew   Added:Oct 2018
Label:Round Bale  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-10-24 Pull Date: 2018-12-26 Charts: Classical/Experimental

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 09, 2022: Music Casserole
Dear Claire
3. Dec 30, 2018: On The Warpath
Dear Tyler
2. Jul 30, 2020: Stranded at Settembrini's
Dear Tyler

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-10-24
Lo-fi surrealistic sound poetry from Melbourne. It’s like a experimental short story or a bonkers study in method acting, narrated in letters from the character “Matthew Revert” (pronounced “rev-Air”) to various people, mentioning the “late” character Darcy only occasionally. Everything’s done with voice and tape, using his low, half-mumbled speech as a surprisingly expressive instrument. Stream-of-conscious half-nonsense, frequent moments of brilliance. Hilarious, disorienting, eerie. I love everything about this. All bizarre and great, but favorites are 4, 5, 6, 8. Possible FCC on 2.

1. (5:12)—Low humming. Hesitating, highly repetitve, slow, jerkily rhythmic speech.
2. (3:45)—Possible FCCs, but he speaks so fast I can’t keep up with his words. Imitates the sound of a malfunctioning car.
3. (8:40)—Soft squeaking, air shaft sounds, lots of near-silence. “I was less than surprised today. Perhaps when I’m walking I should smile.”
4. *(5:05)—Cavernous reverb, like it was recorded in an underground parking garage. Talking about “the dance your parents did at Darcy’s wedding.” Lets out a minute-long, blood-curdling, demonic fit of laughter.
5. *(3:39)—Hissing sounds. I think he’s reading something in German, but really badly.
6. *(4:22)—Tea-kettle-like sounds. “The life of the party got lost in their own parade, and I write to you in the hope you might be convinced to help form a search party.”
7. (6:28)—Chugging factory-like noise in the background. Loud, clipping whooshing sounds. Hardly any words.
8. *(8:11)—Ruminations on memory. Long exhales. A yawn. Poorly feigned politeness. “I don’t feel like I know you personally anymore.” Half-muffled singing in the background.

Track Listing
1. Dear Tyler   5. Dear Heath
2. Dear Penny   6. Dear Virginia Swan
3. Dear Saint Marcus   7. Dear Brian
4. Dear May   8. Dear Claire