Lawful Citizen / Intenal Combustion
Album: Intenal Combustion   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Lawful Citizen   Added:Nov 2018
Label:Self Release  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-12-04 Pull Date: 2019-02-05 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Jan 27 Jan 20 Jan 13 Dec 16 Dec 9
Airplays: 3 2 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 26, 2019: The Acupuncture Hour/Audio Ambrosia
Nothing's Changed
4. Jan 19, 2019: Music Casserole
Nothing's Changed
2. Jan 26, 2019: Music Casserole
Internal Combustion Suite 1
5. Jan 17, 2019: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
February 2nd
3. Jan 25, 2019: old Fart At Play
February 2nd
6. Jan 11, 2019: Old Fart At Play
February 2nd

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2018-11-29
Reviewed: 2018-11-29
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none
Review: Fearlessly combining jazz, metal, electronic, and Americana, Lawful Citizen is an explosive force on the Canadian jazz scene. The pendulum of their music swings from subtle beauty to relentless rage, driven by the musicality and sensitivity of the four musicians. They have become known for their unique grit while melting genres and destroying boundaries, while delivering a transcendent & mesmerizing experience.
If You Like: Jan Garbarek, John Abercrombie, Terje Rypdal, Robert Fripp, Mel Collins, Metalwood
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
1/ The Day After (2:08) – horns start> music rolls in waves of sound> fade
*2/ February 2nd (5:49) – electric guitar starts slow & builds to uptempo jam> builds in volume & intensity> wailing sax solo> uptempo jam> crescendo & fade
*3/ The Road To Nowhere (6:00) – bell-like guitar starts> midtempo jam> soaring sax solo> midtempo space jam> fade
4/ Shatter (5:03) – drums start> uptempo slightly off-kilter jam with heavy chords> quick switch to heavy prog rock jam> fade
*5/ Internal Combustion Suite I (6:50) – electric guitar starts slow> slow ethereal jam> dreamy sax solo builds in volume & intensity> fade
*6/ Internal Combustion Suite II (3:12) – synth guitar/ bass starts> slow sonic jam> prog guitar solo> hweavy prog jam> quick stop
7/ Internal Combustion Suite III (5:35) – hesitating sax starts> dreamy slow space jam> wild uptempo raucous jam> quick fade
8/ Internal Combustion Suite IV (5:25) – drums/bass duet> dlow heavy jam with interjecting sax swells in volume & intensity> slow fade
*9/ Nothing’s Changed (7:08) – synth-like guitar starts> slow jam morphs into sonic dreamscape> slow fade

Track Listing
1. The Day After   5. Internal Combustion Suite 1
2. February 2nd   6. Internal Combustion Suite 2
3. The Road To Nowhere   7. Internal Combustion Suite 3
4. Shatter   8. Internal Combustion Suite 4
  9. Nothing's Changed