Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
New Indiana / Darkness Sunshine
Album:Darkness Sunshine Collection:General
Artist:New Indiana Added:Nov 2018
Label:Imaginator Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2018-12-04 Pull Date:2019-02-05 
Week Ending:Feb 3Jan 13Dec 16

 Recent Airplay
1.Jul 08, 2021:Old Fart At Play (rebroadcast from Feb 1, 2019)
Deep In A Haze
4.Feb 01, 2019:Old Fart At Play
Deep In A Haze
2.Feb 02, 2019:The Acupuncture Hour/Audio Ambrosia
Darkness Sunshine
5.Jan 11, 2019:Traditions
3.Feb 02, 2019:Music Casserole
6.Dec 14, 2018:Totally A
Irish Jig

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-12-04 
Cello, acoustic guitar, gentle duet harmonies, lots of reverberant silence. Peaceful, calming. New Indiana is a New York duo that originally met in Tucson in the late nineties. This reminds me a lot of Low (early Low, not the recent stuff) but also the pastoral lilt of Spanish classical music. If you like early Fleet Foxes’ quieter pieces you’ll find a lot to enjoy too. All songs slow unless noted otherwise. Favorites: 2, 3, 5, 7, 13.

1. (3:41)—Plucked cello, stately classical feel. “Media has so much power.”
2. *(2:48)–Loping rhythm. “Can’t see chance / so very hard / nowhere to go / feel so bad for him.”
3. *(4:08)—Melancholy waltz. Simple and fablelike.
4. (2:22)—Mid-tempo, heartbroken folk song. Fleet Foxes fans may like this.
5. *(3:21)—Deep, droplet-like. Reminiscences about frienship.
6. (2:35)—Bobbing waltz, nice guitar harmonies. Lyrics are just “Adam Weintraub, Adam Weintraub.”
7. *(2:45)—Appropriately hazy alt-folk feel, creeping toward mid-tempo. High drifting harmonies.
8. (3:18)—Jaunty mid-tempo piece. Fun, upbeat.
9. (2:23)—Sweet, smooth, optimistic.
10. (4:09)—Starts as lilting groove, changes to a pacing waltz and back.
11. (2:40)—Pleasant waltz. Lyrics about the Grand Canyon and Bernie Sanders.
12. *(1:56)—Very slow, warm. Like a perfect slow pop miniature.
13. (2:25)—Mid-tempo, upbeat. Reminds me of cowboy vocal groups like Sons of the Pioneers, but more sedate.

Track Listing
1.Media 7.Deep In A Haze
2.The Three 8.Irish Jig
3.Palindrome 9.Merida
4.Thelma 10.Darkness Sunshine
5.Reunion 11.The Sun Sets In The West
6.Adam 12.Beginning Of Summer
 13.Montana Days