Los Ruphay / A Cry For Revolution
Album: A Cry For Revolution   Collection:World
Artist:Los Ruphay   Added:Dec 2018
Label:Arc Music Inc.  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-12-23 Pull Date: 2019-02-24 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 10 Feb 3 Jan 20 Jan 13 Jan 6
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 28, 2019: Hanging in the Bone Yard
Tunupan Ajayupaj
4. Jan 17, 2019: Hanging in the Bone Yard
2. Feb 07, 2019: Cafe Nakhil
5. Jan 15, 2019: FOR THE FAM
3. Feb 02, 2019: The Acupuncture Hour/Audio Ambrosia
6. Jan 10, 2019: Grapevine

Album Review
Margy Kahn
Reviewed 2018-12-15
Los Ruphay, a band founded in La Paz, Bolivia, in 1968, is still playing Andean folk music and performing all over Europe. Copies of their original record signed with ARC music still sell. Some of it is indigenous Hall of the Mountain King stuff. A self-described “Cry to Heal the Earth” and respect traditional cultures. Worthwhile musically as well as culturally

NO FCC'S; Favorite tracks: 2, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

1-- Marka Kusisita (Joyful Village Community) – 6:43 – begins with heavy duty bass pan pipes with crashing drums; segues to high pitched pipes still with drums; 3rd segue sounds more like Andean pipes familiar in US – all marching tunes

*2 – Chiri Wanuy –(A Cold that Kills) –3:29 – pretty Andean music with the different stringed instruments

3—Tunupan Ajayupaj – 2:17-- heavy pan pipes with drums-- interesting back and forth rhythm

4—Pachamamasti Llakitawa –4:44 – starts with violin and fretted strings and panpipes come in; slow rhythm, a little somber; vocal is a bit nasal and scratchy but interesting Aymara lyrics; becomes straight speech by end

5 –Jallalla! Italque –6:01-- heavy pipes plus syncopated drumming

*6—Machaq Pajsi –4:43-- pretty flute and string work

*7 –Jallpa Jailliy—5:29-- violin and charanga (?) trade phrases and then the pipes and guitar come in; pretty waltz and then rhythm changes to march

*8—Willka Khantu –5:58-- interesting whispery overtones from the pipes in this tune: Spanish lyrics and drums come in partway through; almost Gregorian chant-like

*9--Aukinakataki (Tribute to the Ancestors) – 4:18-- syncopated guitar and cello; nice rhythm

*10--Ukumanta (From Deep Inside) – 5:08—starts with bass pizzicato; charango picks up tune and then flute; lots of texture

**11-- Achachilas (Mountain Gods) – 4:34 beginning sounds like a Renaissance dance tune; then slows way down with a cello segue and charango tremolo; beat picks up again; a Bolivian tarantella?

12--Sumaj Urunaka (Better Days) – 4:52-- panpipes in a happy, fast tune with some yelling and singing

Track Listing
1. Marka Kusisita   7. Allpa Jailliy
2. Phulurunas   8. Willka Khantu
3. Tunupan Ajayupaj   9. Aukinakataki
4. Pachamamasti Llakitawa   10. Ukumanta
5. Jallalla! Italaque   11. Achachilas
6. Machaq Pajsi   12. Sumaj Urunaka