Spacek, Steve / Natural Sci-Fi
Album: Natural Sci-Fi   Collection:General
Artist:Spacek, Steve   Added:Dec 2018
Label:Eglo Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-12-23 Pull Date: 2019-02-24
Week Ending: Feb 24 Jan 13 Dec 30
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 19, 2019: FOR THE FAM
Carnival Nights
3. Dec 25, 2018: Nowhere Local
Natural Sci-Fi
2. Jan 08, 2019: Nowhere Local
Carnival Nights

Album Review
Alex Mejía
Reviewed 2018-12-18
Steve Spacek - “Natural Sci-Fi”
Reviewed by Chano

Really nice spacey funk and vocalizing from Steve Spacek on this one. It’s his second solo album and some of the tracks came from a few years back but they all mesh together well and sound super thick and lush. Very groovy. (From Eglo Records description) Eglo Records are proud to present the second official solo album by the forward facing producer and vocalist Steve Spacek. The album continues the post Spaceshift vibration of Steve’s signature production style and effortless vocal delivery. Swinging spaciuosly from past to present, packed with soul, sounding as fresh and relevant today as it did when it began back in 2005. 
Since the albums inception Steve has released projects with Mark Pritchard as one half of Africa Hitech on Warp, an instrumental LP as Black Pocket for his brother D-Bridge’s Exit Records and a concept LP as Beat Spacek for Ninja Tune.

Favorites: 1 (long), 4, 5,
FCCs: 8
RIYL: J Dilla, hip hop/funk, spacey vibes, downtempo, trip hop,

1. “Natural Sci-Fi” - 8:40 - Spacey sounds lead into slower, midtempo beat with nice spaced out funky bassline and synth leads gliding on top of the beat; vocals start 3min in and the song’s sort of about love, heartbreak, and the other person “never gonna find a love like mine.” The track grooves onward after the vocals drop out but the synth leads get slightly funkier and weirder in between vocalizing.
2. “Deep Inside” - 4:43 - More atmospheric spacey sounds for the first 40seconds and then the percussion and beat drop in followed by vocals and a funky bass groove. Lyrics about communicating with someone, feelings, and everything “deep inside”
3. “Well Well” - 3:04 - Funky drums and bass come in right away with a muted horn sample in the background and airy synths; cool percussion comes in with the vocals; real nice drums. Super chill track.
4. “Take Ova (feat. Oddisee)” - 3:47 - Starts off with a processed sample and some synth before the beat drops and it’s suuuuper funky and thick, while the vocals continue in the vein of the previous tracks with a laid back higher pitched (falsetto? I’m not sure) chill vibe. Thicker sound on this one with more sounds and samples sprinkled in. “Iiiiiiii wanna take over. Wanna be free.” Rapping by Oddisee.
5. “Carnival Nights” - 4:18 - This one has a different and more uptempo vibe than the other tracks; A little more skittish, in a cool way. Percussion is spread out but come in quick bursts. Nice lush chord stabs and thick bass. Not light years away from the other tracks but distinct. Nice scatting-type vocalizing.
6. “Shout” - 3:20 - Interestingly chopped piano loop give nice texture to more midtempo and funky drums and bass. Singing about sleeping, going insane, shouting, etc. Fun and funky vibes.
7. “Things Outa My Head” - 2:48 - more uptempo funk with catchy rhythmic keys looped, bass and drum groove, really nice clap, and vocals.
8. “Plain Site” (feat. Natalie Slade) - 5:01 - FCCs unfortunately :( “hide that shit in plain site”The final track starts with some meditative atmospheric keys adding nice texture to the characteristic drum and bass grooviness. Midtempo and smooth. Natalie Slade’s vocals add a different vibe.

Track Listing
1. Natural Sci-Fi   5. Carnival Nights
2. Deep Inside   6. Shout
3. Well Well   7. Things Outa My Head
4. Take Ova (Feat. Oddisee)   8. Plain Site (Feat. Natalie Slade)