Boygenius / Boygenius
Album: Boygenius   Collection:General
Artist:Boygenius   Added:Jan 2019
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-02-07 Pull Date: 2019-04-11
Week Ending: Apr 7 Mar 24 Mar 3 Feb 24 Feb 17 Feb 10
Airplays: 2 1 1 1 3 1

Recent Airplay
1. May 03, 2023: Music Is...
Ketchum, Id
4. Apr 16, 2019: Attitude Adjustment
Bite The Hand
2. May 28, 2021: KZSU Time Traveler
Ketchum, Id
5. Apr 14, 2019: w/e
Ketchum, Id
3. Feb 28, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Ketchum, Id
6. Apr 13, 2019: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Salt In The Wound

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2019-02-07
The supergroup trio of Julien Baker, Phoebe Bridgers, and Lucy Dacus playing great, plainspoken songs about sadness, failure, and anxiety. Big-scale indie rock at its best. Majestic stadium sound and anthems to match, with marvelous harmonies. Aside from the members’ solo music, also RIYL Big Thief, Pianos Become the Teeth, Magnolia Electric Co, First Aid Kit, the Dolly Parton/Emmylou Harris/Linda Ronstadt Trio. Favorites: 3, 5, 6. No FCCs.

1. (3:12)—Furtive 90s alt-rock feel. Nice desert guitar leads. Lucy Dacus leads.
2. (3:27)—Slow shoegaze beginning switches to modern rock choruses, noisy finish. Phoebe Bridgers leads.
3. *(3:33)—Mid-tempo melancholy acoustic guitar road song. Julien Baker leads.
4. (4:01)—Slow, reverberant. Julien Baker leads. Fakeout build, then a real build. Big anthem rock finish. “I look at you and you look at a screen / I’m in the backseat of my body.”
5. *(4:12)—Dramatic piano and distorted guitar to begin. Slow, intense and sad Magnolia Electric Co-style heartland rock crashes in. Lucy Dacus and Julien Baker lead.
6. *(3:36)—Simple acoustic guitar and voice, lots of reverb. All three singers rotate verses. The chorus is a serious earworm.

Track Listing
1. Bite The Hand   4. Stay Down
2. Me & My Dog   5. Salt In The Wound
3. Souvenir   6. Ketchum, Id