Death Valley Girls / Darkness Rains
Album:Darkness Rains Collection:General
Artist:Death Valley Girls Added:Jan 2019
Label:Suicide Squeeze Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2019-01-22 Pull Date:2019-03-26 
Week Ending:Mar 24Mar 17Mar 10Feb 24Feb 17Feb 10Feb 3Jan 27

Recent Airplay
1.Sep 22, 2022:Down in the Basement
Wear Black
4.Sep 02, 2021:Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Jul 29, 2021)
Wear Black
2.Sep 15, 2022:Down in the Basement
Born Again And Again
5.Jul 29, 2021:Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Mar 12, 2019)
Wear Black
3.Apr 28, 2022:Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Mar 12, 2019)
Wear Black
6.Jul 14, 2021:Totally A (rebroadcast from Feb 1, 2019)
Disaster (Is What We're After)

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2019-01-18 
The correct order of describing the new Death Valley Girls album can go one of two ways. Pulsing, hyper-charged, scuzzy rock – or heavy, disruptive, and better yet impactful. Either way, they're back, but this time with a vengeance. 'Darkness Rains' exemplifies a modern tap on fun house, whilst dabbling in punk-rock alternatives, with the militant beats and chaotic lyrics, making for a spiritually-driven listen. Setting the tone is opener ‘More Dead’ throwing us straight into the deep end with its hard-hitting beats, and distorted lyrics. This track encompasses the idea of blown-out force and is a triumphant start to the album.

Garage Rock

Like: The Coathangers, L.A. Witch, Ty Segall, Bully, Priests, Swearin'

FCC Clean

Play: 2, 3, 8

1.More Dead (2:35) - Memorable guitar riff clicks in with a tom-heavy drumbeat.
2.(One Less Thing) Before I Die (1:36) - Song for the adrenaline junkies - high in volume, and bass.
3.Disaster (Is What We're After) (3:37) - Vocal distinct vibrato along with sax backed singalong chorus.
4.Unzip Your Forehead (3:44) - Plenty of psychedelic swirls.
5.Wear Black (3:02) - Excellent garage rock rush.
6.Abre Camino (4:42) - Slower tempo which draws attention to a haunting, repetitive melody.
7.Born Again and Again (3:47) - A moodier tone to the upbeat and raw punk sound.
8.Street Justice (2:40) - Straight forward rocker with some excellent axe-work.
9.Occupation: Ghost Writer (3:20) - Cymbal heavy, riff loaded, and saturated in a sweaty glamour.
10.TV in Jail On Mars (5:47) - Breathy and dreamlike vocals are repeated along a comforting bass line.

Track Listing
1.More Dead 6.Abre Camino
2.(One Less Thing) Before I Die 7.Born Again And Again
3.Disaster (Is What We're After) 8.Street Justice
4.Unzip Your Forehead 9.Occupation: Ghost Writer
5.Wear Black 10.Tv In Jail On Mars