Earl Sweatshirt / Some Rap Songs
Album: Some Rap Songs   Collection:Hip-hop
Artist:Earl Sweatshirt   Added:Apr 2019
Label:Tan Cressida  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-04-19 Pull Date: 2019-06-21 Charts: Hip-Hop
Week Ending: May 19 May 5 Apr 28
Airplays: 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 01, 2023: Early Riser
4. May 16, 2019: Brands Bytes & Beats
2. Jan 25, 2023: Early Riser
5. May 02, 2019: Color Theory
Shattered Dreams, Riot!
3. Sep 25, 2021: Sludge Music Show
6. Apr 25, 2019: Hysteresis History

Album Review
Reviewed 2019-04-08
Reviewed 2019-03-09

RIYL: MIKE, Madlib, MF Doom, Vince Staples, Mac Miller.
Production wise, SRS is full of dusty drums, and hazy, vintage sample loops behind Earl’s constant delivery. It’s introspective, poetic, and mature in its lyricism. The verses are the glue that hold the project together, yet they’re choppy and abrupt, almost like each song is a piece of the puzzle. The songs in this project work best when they’re fitted in context with each other, not simply played on their own.

FCCs: all (Safe Harbor Only!!)
Favs: 1), 4), 6), 7), 14), 15)

1) ***Shattered Dreams (2:21) - Opens the album with clean, slow bassline and vocal loops. Earl sets the tone for the rest of the album.
2) Red Water (1:44) - Choppy, raw production loops, wail-like vocal loop. Melancholy feel overall.
3) Cold Summers (1:06) - Feels almost like Madlib, 90s-like drums under a nice melody. 90s vibes in Earl’s delivery and tone.
4) ***Nowhere2go (1:54) - Glitchy and choppy, stretched vocal samples, pulsating rhythm
5) December 24 (1:47) - More full, consistent beat. Drums and instruments panned to the sides with Earl’s driving delivery through the center of the mix.
6) **Ontheway! (feat. Standing On The Corner) (1:42) - vintage guitar loop, lofi drums. Nice change-up at the end into slow down
7) ***The Mint (feat. Navy Blue) (2:45) - light drums and bassline underneath a melancholic piano loop. Earl & Navy with slow paced introspective verses
8) The Bends (1:35) - chopped, dusty 90’s like pitchy vocal loop
9) Loosie (0:59) Slow, almost creeping sample loops in the background, boom bap drums
10) Azucar (1:26) - Vocals, guitar and keys loops, and bassline - no drums in this one. Earl’s verse is clearer and more present
11) Eclipse (1:34) - Spacey, chopped vocal and string samples, Earl’s vocals float on top. Feels like MF Doom
12) Veins (2:00) - Heavier drums and bassline, Earl takes a stronger, more direct tone
13) Playing Possum (feat. Cheryl Harris & Keorapetse Kgositsile) (1:35) - Alternating speeches by Earl’s mother and father over dusty beat and samples.
14) *Peanut (1:14) - Darkest song on the project. Dusty, melancholy, unsettling. Uses light noise and bassy undertones to complement subject matter. Earl discusses dealing with his father’s death.
15) **Riot! (1:06) - Good outro: Upbeat guitar and trumpet samples giving the album (some) closure and resolution. No lyrics on this one.

Track Listing
1. Shattered Dreams   8. The Bends
2. Red Water   9. Loosie
3. Cold Summers   10. Azucar
4. Nowhere2go   11. Eclipse
5. December 24   12. Veins
6. Otherway!   13. Playing Possum
7. The Mint   14. Peanut
  15. Riot!