Smokescreens / Used To Yesterday
Album: Used To Yesterday   Collection:General
Artist:Smokescreens   Added:Sep 2019
Label:Slumberland Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-09-26 Pull Date: 2019-11-28
Week Ending: Dec 1 Nov 24 Nov 10 Nov 3 Oct 20
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 30, 2019: Music Casserole
4. Nov 08, 2019: w/e
It's Not Right
2. Nov 26, 2019: Magnetized Toner: With Guest DJs Pixel and DJ Away
Used To Yesterday
5. Nov 06, 2019: The Fuzz Deli
Steel Blue Skies
3. Nov 20, 2019: The Library
Jolly Jane
6. Oct 30, 2019: Brownian Motion
Used To Yesterday

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2019-09-23
LA-based New Zealand-esque indie pop band “Smokescreens” hit back with their second album, Used to Yesterday. After a careful gleaning of the album title, it could be considered ironic, seeing as how it’s a slight change from the Kiwi noise pop from their eponymous album which begs to ask the question – can you get used to yesterday? Used to Yesterday, unfolds as an animated portrait full of the characters and desires that define a life, and reveals a sound alive with possibility and anticipation.

Like: Star Tropics, The Clean, Young Scum, Clearance

FCC Clean

Play: 4,6,9

1.Someone New (2:49) Fuzzy guitars painting an easy listening, simplistic, melodious journey.
2.Used To Yesterday (2:19) Static power-pop with melodic shinny impulses.
3.The Lost Song (3:14) Fantastic blend of kiwi and power pop.
4.Jolly Jane (2:06) Upbeat standout track, makes it difficult not to listen to over and over again.
5.Buddy (3:41) Melancholic garage wall of sound takes you on a nostalgic journey to yesteryears.
6.Waiting For Summer (4:11) 12-string jangler with a hooky melody and a classic subject.
7.Steel Blue Skies (3:45) a nice cover of the obscure '80s New Zealand band Wasp Factory.
8.Fool Me (1:53) Mines country-pop territory with some sad slide guitar.
9.It's Not Right (2:45) Hypnotic track flows with an intimate, melancholic growth.
10.Falling Down (3:03) Honey-soaked melody strewn all throughout, chorus and verse.

Track Listing
1. Someone New   6. Waiting For Summer
2. Used To Yesterday   7. Steel Blue Skies
3. The Lost Song   8. Fool Me
4. Jolly Jane   9. It's Not Right
5. Buddy   10. Falling Down