New Pornographers, The / In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights
Album:In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights Collection:General
Artist:New Pornographers, The Added:Sep 2019
Label:Concord Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2019-10-07 Pull Date:2019-12-09 
Week Ending:Dec 8Dec 1Nov 24Nov 17Nov 10Nov 3Oct 27Oct 20

Recent Airplay
1.Jul 01, 2022:KZSU Time Traveler
Colossus Of Rhodes
4.Dec 01, 2021:I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants (rebroadcast from Nov 21, 2019)
Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile
2.Feb 17, 2022:I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants (rebroadcast from Feb 15, 2022)
Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile
5.Sep 03, 2021:KZSU Time Traveler
Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile
3.Feb 15, 2022:I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile
6.Jan 22, 2021:KZSU Time Traveler
Higher Beams

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2019-09-30 
“In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights” The New Pornographers
8th album of harmony-laden, uplifting power pop. This Canadian super-group (together with American singer-songwriter, Neko Case) has featured three lead singers since their 2000 debut —AC Newman, Dan Bejar and Case. But for the second album in a row, the group is missing Bejar, who has been focused on his own band, Destroyer. The rich arrangements rely on layered keyboards, guitar, and catchy, often complex, beats. The lyrics — almost exclusively written by Newman — can be biting and depressing at times, but provide a personal perspective on today’s political environment and life challenges. Exceptional album — particularly at the top.
— Francis

Recommended: 3, 2, 4, 1, 8, 10, 9, 7. FCCs on Track 5.

1. (4:15) You’ll Need A New Backseat Driver – Melodic, propulsive tune driven by a circular bass line, lightly tripping drums and Neko Case’s bright, clear alto vocals. ****
2. (3:12) The Surprise Knock – Shimmering and soaring, with a bouncy beat, thrumming guitars and synths, and captivating guy/girl harmonies. ****
3. (3:45) Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile – First single. Upbeat, pulsing, slightly jazzy pop rock with handclaps and a noisy, chanting background. ****
4. (4:04) Colossus Of Rhodes – Anthemic with tinkling piano and swelling orchestral flourishes accompanying Case’s lead vocals. Skittering, tumbling drums and lush harmonies. ****
5. (4:06) Higher Beams – FCCs: F-ck (twice). Starts out like baroque pop. Then, transitions to simple, walking rhythm with chimey keys and Newman on lead vocals.
6. (4:12) Dreamlike And On The Rush – Stop-and-go beat. Off-kilter, minor-key melody. Strings playing off against synths — plus handclaps.
7. (2:22) You Won’t Need Those Where You’re Going – Halting, spare piano ballad with Newman singing the lead. **
8. (3:39) Need Some Giants – Ringing, reverbed keyboard-driven power pop. Newman and Case alternate on the lead. Some guitar in the choruses. ***
9. (3:00) Opening Ceremony – Carefree, happy ditty with lilting, clever lyrics, calliope-like synths and some sort of pan pipe in the background. **
10. (3:55) One Kind Of Solomon – Thumping, tumbling drums with Newman’s rapid-fire lyrics. Case carries the vocals in the lead break. Classic New Pornographers sound. ***
11. (4:33) Leather On The Seat – Big, synth-based anthemic closer. Girls on lead vocals. Guitar effects, noise and some synth strings.

Track Listing
1.You’ll Need A New Backseat Driver 6.Dreamlike And On The Rush
2.The Surprise Knock 7.You Won’t Need Those Where You’re Going
3.Falling Down The Stairs Of Your Smile 8.Need Some Giants
4.Colossus Of Rhodes 9.Opening Ceremony
5.Higher Beams 10.One Kind Of Solomon
 11.Leather On The Seat